Lavi……life

Liberson died this morning around 8am. He was talking to us at 6:30am.  His mom was here yesterday and they were able to talk for a while.  She brought him three eggs.  He wanted to eat them last night at 10pm.   Something major was wrong with his mouth and digestive tract.  His mouth would bleed if you just touched it.  He has been having something that looks like puss coming up and out through his mouth for the past 5 days.  He could not eat, it was not possible.  He wanted a radio.  I bought him a little one yesterday.  One with headphones and a little flashlight on it.  It was small and it did not work well.  He called me and told me thank you for buying it but he really wanted a bigger one.  I sent someone early this morning to buy him the exact radio he wanted. It did not make it here in time.  He knew what color he wanted and what kind of batteries it took.  He wanted a nice pair of sandles.  Even though his feet were opened up and raw.  He put them by his head so he could wear them when he got better.  He wanted a ball and a car.  I do not understand the suffering here.  I do not understand why he did not just die last week.  They did not teach me how to deal with this in school.  It is hard.  I had one child die yesterday and I have another child that we admitted yesterday that is struggling to breath and live.  Malnutrition has no easy solution, no easy answers to solve the problem.  Most of the parents here really love their children. They want them to live , they want them to grow and be healthy.  But almost everyone you talk to has lost a child.  Usually more than one.  It is almost a normal part of life.  I do not want it to be normal.  I want it to stop.  I want the parents to have better options for there families.  I want every child to live and feel loved.  Will you pray for me today and pray for our staff.  They have had a rough week with several sick kids.

I do not want to die… until I have faithfully made the most of my talent and cultivated the seed that was placed in me until the last small twig has grown.
Kathe Kollwitz

*********************

 

 

Don’t for get to check out the Inspired to Action  post for today.

Today’s inspiration comes from Johann Wolfgang von Goethe:

Let everyone sweep in front of his own door and the whole world will be clean.

 

4 Responses to Lavi……life

  1. i was secretly falling in love with Liberson. He was such a character. My prayers are with you. I find joy in knowing that he’s happy where he is now, much happier.

  2. Diane says:

    Little Liberson captured my heart! He is Home!!

    I am praying, Licia, praying God continues to hold you and your family and Haiti right in the Palm of His Hand!!!

    Thank you for loving Liberson, Licia.

    Diane

  3. Heather P says:

    Oh Licia, I am so sorry. The suffering you see everyday is so unimaginable to me. I pray God comforts you and your staff and that you feel His presence and peace in a HUGE way. You are doing a great job. Thanks for being willing to share so that we can pray.

  4. jen says:

    My son David and I have been praying for little Liberson. David is 6 and Haiti has already captured his heart. When we first read about Liberson David immediatly said we should pray for him and we have been since. We will keep praying for God to comfort you all and to show you how amazing you are for sacrificing so much for these children. I am humbled.

Leave a Reply

