Chabina and Sandra…..live and death

Chabina died last night.  Her fever began to break around 9pm.  It started to go down and within 30 it shot back up to 108.3.  That is way to high!  I have had a few children with 106 fever, but none with 108.  It was very sad.  She was having seizures.  We bathed her with cool water and continued to give her meds for the fever.  We gave meds and shots for infection.  I went and got Lori to see what to do, she was sewing up someone that the judge sent down that had got into a fight.  We talked but there was not much we could do.  I do not understand why…why her dad made the trip last week to bring her here, why when he comes for his next visit we will have to tell him his only daughter died… why she did not ever get a little chance at life..and always why so much suffering and pain. 

I always will choose to trust in God and look to Him for my support.  I  cannot be mad at Him, I love Him to much and without Him I cannot imagine what my life would be. 

Psalm 28:6-8 (New International Version)

 6 Praise be to the LORD,
       for he has heard my cry for mercy.

 7 The LORD is my strength and my shield;
       my heart trusts in him, and I am helped.
       My heart leaps for joy
       and I will give thanks to him in song.

 8 The LORD is the strength of his people,
       a fortress of salvation for his anointed one

Last year we had several children with Kwashiorkor.  They were very bad and near death.  We had two girls at the same time Fabienne and Sandra.  They were both almost dead.  Their skin had split open and they were a mess.  There is no reason that they should have lived. But they both did.  This morning Sandra came to visit.  I did not even recognize her.  She was so healthy and heavy when I picked her up.  She looked great and it lifted my spirts to see her.

So why did she live..why.. She was in a coma for several days, she did not move, talk, eat, drink.  We keep her alive with a feeding tube.  After about 1 weeks she woke up.  She made it.  She lived and is doing well. Why?  I have to choose to believe that the “why” is in God’s hands.  I think He can handle it and I should just trust Him and believe that he will work it all out. 

Sandra’s before pictures

Sandra today

Isaiah 55:8-9 (NIV)

8″For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
       neither are your ways my ways,”
       declares the LORD.

 9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth,
       so are my ways higher than your ways
       and my thoughts than your thoughts. 

 

8 Responses to Chabina and Sandra…..live and death

  1. nancy says:

    I simply do not know how y’all do this day in and day out.

  2. debraparker says:

    your faith is beautiful.

  3. Tressa says:

    Ohhh my heart aches….I cannot even begin to think how much yours aches. You are a woman of faith, and it inspires me greatly. I will continue to pray for you, your people, for your hearts and for your hands as they continue to accomplish His will!!

  4. Diane says:

    Trusting completely with you in God.

  5. Sarah says:

    So sorry Licia. Praying for you all and Chabina’s family.
    I do admire your faith.
    HE KNOWS.
    Love you.
    Sarah

  6. Heather P says:

    I am so sorry – for you, for Chabina’s loving Papa, for the suffering. I too have to trust the Lord, but oh how all this stuff just aches inside me. Praying for you today – for peace and for more happy endings like Sandra.

  7. jordan says:

    debraparker says it perfect…your faith is beautiful! few will stand stong in the midst of suffering and say, “i will choose to trust God.” that is one reason why He has chosen you.

    i continue to join you in praying for strength to make it through today and pray for a chance…an opportunity…to join you as you are on the front lines of experiencing the joys and pains of the glory of God.

    i admire your work and pray that God continues to mold you more like His Son through the joys and the pains.

  8. jordan says:

    when you talk to Chabina’s dad next week, can you please post a blog about the encounter? i am praying for him and want to know what God does!

Leave a Reply

