Nagette died last night. I had been checking on her on and off during the day, she at times did not seem to be breathing.  The ladies called me and said she was bad, which means, she is almost dead.  When I got there she was already dead.  I carried her swollen body across to the clinic in front of many patients waiting to be see.  Several people saw her and just said Jesus, Jesus. When I layed her on the table to bathe her there were tears running down both of her cheeks.  Her parents were called late last night, and again, this AM.  We waited as long as we could for them to come but we had to bury her.  An aunt and uncle came in about 30 minutes afterwards.  They family will return tomorrow for pictures and the death certificate.

Kelly died as well.  He has been here a over a month.  He mother and father were both dead.  We believe that he was blind, deaf and had many other problems as well.

 

Someone had asked me to share about telling Chabina’s dad about her death.  He came on Tuesday.  The ladies told him that she died, he was shocked and said he did not bring her here sick.  We explained to him that she had a very high fever and we did everything we could here to help her.  He said that she often had fevers at his house as well.  He took the pictures and death certificate and thank us. There was not emotion that he showed here with us.  Losing a child happens so often here.

4 Responses to

  1. Rob says:

    How sad. How do you deal with death? I cannot imagine dealing with it so much. Its just not fair. I don’t understand. May God bless you and your family and you minister to the Haitian people and may God give you the strength to endure all you have to do. God’s speed!

  2. Stacy says:

    I have been reading your blog since about October of last year and have never left a comment. I just want to tell you that what you and your family are doing in Haiti encourages me, motivates me and challenges me daily. I don’t know how you do this…honestly I don’t. I work as a nurse in a busy labor and delivery unit and when we have a bad outcome it is devastating and rocks me to the core, but it can hardly compare to what you see daily. Thank your for what you do and for blogging about it. You and your sister are constant methods of conversation in our household and my husband and I are praying fervently for what we are supposed to do with what we know. Nagette is beautiful and my heart breaks for her and her family. Thank you for your comment about Chabina’s dad…that was my husband that left that comment and he had been very broken hearted for him.

  3. Scarlett says:

    Thank you for sharing this.

  4. jen says:

    I do not know how you do it. Praying for you all, and for the families of the little ones.

Leave a Reply

