A new friend…..

A times when I am having a bad day, or week, God is always faithful to come through and lift my spirits.

 

This little lady came to pass in the clinic yesterday.  Somehow she made it through two main doors with no one seeing her and found me coming down the stairs from dad’s house.  She said hey white lady, and being there is one two white ladies for miles around, I looked over to her.  She said she needed to talk to me.  I went over and she had a ripped up plastic sack she was carrying for her bag.   She has several other little plastic sacks and bags inside the first bag.  It took her about 5 minutes to dig down into the bag and find a small little piece of plastic. She pulled it out and started to untie it.  It was wrapped in such a way that I thought it was something of importance.  She got it opened and it was $3 haitian, about $0.40 US.  She explained to me that she did not have enough money to pass in the clinic.  So we went and got it all taken care of and got her a place in line.  While she was being seen by the nurses, I got a little bag together for her.  It was a bag that came in on the semi trailer, and dad had just hauled it to the house that day.  Lori and I filled it with soap, cream, PB, and other goodies.  When I gave it to her she was so happy.

We talked for a while and she wanted to give me some leafy greens that she had picked on the way to clinic.  The picture below is me telling her to keep the greens and eat them herself.  I asked her if she thought she could do that and get big like me?  She looked at me shocked and said “well I guess I can try”.

4 Responses to A new friend…..

  1. debraparker says:

    She seems precious.

  2. Rob says:

    Licia, those kind of people break my heart. I too want to give them everything I have. Knowing she doesn’t have much. May God bless her!

  3. Scarlett says:

    It’s wonderful to read your journals. Your making a difference, kenbe fim nan travay la!

    ~Scarlett

  4. […] Don’t even think about Moses, David, Jonah, Peter or Mark, all of whom overcame failures. [ more on Jonah […]

Leave a Reply

