Update on Soline and Mailove

 In case you wondered if it was hot here.  I just wanted to show you what my shirt looked like at 9am.  Lori will you go someplace that has a good air conditioner and get so cold you get goosebumps and think about me. Okay? 

********************************************************

Several people have asked about Soline. Here she is the first day.

So after her being here for a few days she began passing worms.  These were not the normal type earthworms that we see all the time.  No, these were little white worms.   I try to let the kids recover some from their severe suffering from the malnutrition before I deworm them.  So I did not give her worm meds.  Then she began coughing them up and they were literally crawling on her mouth and face.  Coming out of her. So I went ahead and gave her  the medication. Lets just say she had more worms that I have ever wanted to see.  Okay that is all I am going to say about that.

She is eating and drinking now.  She is of course very weak and sleeping a lot. She does ask for meat all the time.  She is losing her “water weight” now and is very skinny. So very skinny. Like so skinny you feel like you will break her arms off if you try and pick her up. 

Her upper body is not retaining water now.  Its just her legs and feet.  Here is her upper arm.  See what I mean?  Take your hand and put your fingers like mine are around her upper arm.  Now look at the hole that is left. 

 

 

Here are her legs and feet.

******************************************************

 Mailove was burned a few weeks back.  A few of you asked about her as well.

  Here she is today. Healing nicely. 

 So today was our Monday for our HIV and TB patients. Those patients were passing through the clinic and this lady came in for a dressing change on her leg.  She had a motorcycle accident last Wednesday.  She went to a clinic that was near her and got it sewed up.  It must have been a large deep cut.  The clinic did not give her meds or tell her to return.  So she wrapped he leg up with a rag and put a big sock on it.  Sometimes it is scary to see what in underneath things like that.  I got a chart made for her and she sat and waited her turn.  She went into the dressing room and we unwrapped her leg.  The only way I can describe it is that it was like unwrapping something that has been dead for several days.  The smell was very…..strong and not ….good….it was not what I expected.  Her foot is an infected mess.  She cannot walk on it at all.  It is bad.  She lives several hours away, and does not know anyone in this area.  I had to fight to not gag while I was talking to her and her husband.  Her husband is going back home today to get a older child to stay here and take care of her.   So I will keep her in the RC for awhile and see what happens.  We put her on some strong antibiotics, pain meds.  

Look at the flap of skin by her ankle.

Tomorrow is Tuesday, our most busy clinic day.  Will you PLEASE say an extra prayer for me?

I know God will not give me anything I can’t handle.  I just wish that He didn’t trust me so much.  ~Mother Teresa

7 Responses to Update on Soline and Mailove

  1. Tressa says:

    I will be praying for you…I know He trusts you with soo much, and you handle it all amazingly! KEEP ON!!

  2. How is Fleusana doing? I will be praying a special prayer for you tomorrow!

  3. Amy says:

    Thank you so much for the update on Mailove…and Soline. That poor baby girl. She has been through hell on earth…I will pray for her strength to keep fighting. She appears very sad, and I just can’t blame her.

    New twist on the Mother Teresa quote…God doesn’t give us what we can handle; God helps us handle what we are given.

    My prayers will be going out to the Lord to give you the strength, courage, knowledge and peace you need to continue to do His work. God Bless You!

    ~Amy (Wisconsin)

  4. jen says:

    Definatly praying for you! God will carry you through.

  5. Amblin says:

    I am praying for you all. My heart just breaks for little Soline. Something about her makes me just want to scoop her up, hug her gently, and never let go. Her eyes are just so very sad. That poor baby.

  6. lori says:

    I am SOOOOOO freezing right now!!! Brrrrrrrrrr!!!

  7. glaucia says:

    oh my God I will pry for this poor babys my heart is melting feel so sad!!!please send more info re this precious kids god bless you

Leave a Reply

