Some pictures of the village

I am completely overwhelmed right now…completely.  I was awake for 40 straight hours!  I finally got to sleep last night about 11pm.  Up early this AM to remove all of Lori’s and Charles belongings from there house.  I am going to try and keep posting as best I can. 

The road to our house in washed out in two places.  Like washed out so bad, I do not know when we will be able to get it fixed.  We are slowly filtering water from machines.  I cannot tell anyone what to do for me and the people here in Cazale because I just do not know….my mind is in a place to keep this water going to be able to have something to drink for the kids.  There is no way for anyone to get her, but by foot.  The water pipe system is not there for about 1/4 a mile…it is totally gone these were large 4 inch metal pipes.  We dug a hole in the river side today and are getting water from a hole there, bringing it in and letting it sit for hours so some of the dirt settles, then pours in through some towels to try to get any more dirt out, then running it through the filter machines.  I appreciate all your emails and thought…so much.  I will write back as I can in the weeks to come. 

**********************************************

This is a crazy lady in the village.  She slept on that table the night the flood passed and lived.  She sat there the whole day on Saturday and laughed at everyone walking by.  I wonder what she was really thinking.

Banana tree field destroyed by the water

 

Notice where Carmelo is standing in the orange/red shirt in the left hand corner of the picture, this picture was taken last week after hurricane Hanna.

 

In this picture he was standing right where that post is at, with a sign hanging behind it.

 

Look how the stuff collected behind the tree.

The man laying on the ground, next to the freezer, was pulled dead from the river.  They just layed his body there and it sat for about 4 hours.  He was buried this afternoon.  We were able to get a casket on credit and will pay when we can.  His father came today and Ike destroyed their families house.  The man had a small baby plus four other children.

Here is a picture I took last week of the bridge.

Here is the river now, You can see the end of the cement post with the tree stuck against it. From that you can see how much of the bridge is missing.  The posts that supported the bridge we huge metal post.

That all is that is left.

The water bent this part of the bridge in a 90 degree angle. This is a bad problem as this is the only way to cross the water without actually going into the water.  All the kids going to school pass here, all of our workers that live on the other side of the river pass here.  Everyone crossing passed on this bridge.  Many of my workers have not been able to come to work for the past few days.  The could not cross over.  So the ladies that live on this side have been filling in for them.  It is wonderful how everyone is helping out….of course I am offering double pay for all that show up, so that has helped too!

This house is two houses down from the RC. Notice the water level. 

I put her to the test….she said no job was to dirt for her….she meant it.  Both ladies help me out so much today.  Unbelievable…they are a God send for me right now.

This is me in the middle of Lori’s house…do you see my toes?

The boys have been doing great.  They no that a hurricane means lots of rain and the have to stay upstairs, but I had to let them go play in the mud some, they loved it!

more to come…unless I join the lady outside on the table……..a joke people!

15 Responses to Some pictures of the village

  1. thanks for the pictures!
    It is good to see what you are seeing, even though we could never understand what is going on there with us being here.
    amos, trey & henly look like they are having a blast!
    ;)jamie

  2. debraparker says:

    thank you for the update. i am praying some rest for you.

  3. Brandi says:

    Please know that there are those all across the US praying for you guys.

    Brandi

  4. Ericka says:

    Licia, after what you’ve been through, you absolutely get on out there and get on the table! You have been an incredible trooper and inspiration. Praying like crazy here for you and everyone affected by the storm. Lots of hugs…

  5. Licia,
    Praying for God’s strength and peace to you in the midst of this incredible difficulty. We’re also praying for the community there–bridges, roads, water pipes, banana tree fields, lost homes, lost loved ones. Thanks for pictures and updates.
    Blessings,
    K

  6. Laura says:

    I don’t even know what to say! It’s easy to distance yourself from pictures on the news – but to “hear” you narrate all that has happened – means I can’t turn away. I can’t begin to imagine all that you and the others there are experiencing. I am challenged by your commitment to the Lord and to the people there – praying that God will continue to honor your work and that you would feel His presence in new ways during these extremeley hard days!

  7. Tess says:

    WOW. Thanks Licia for keeping us updated. Its good for us to be reminded of the realities of the world. We appreciate all the work you are doing, and I’m sure the village appreciates the advocate you have become for them. I don’t know if you can ever rest in Haiti but I hope you get some sleep!

  8. Tamara Cosby says:

    Wow! I was just realizing how differently I feel about this situation than I have in the past because I know people in Haiti…it makes me sad that it doesn’t hit emotionally until you know someone there…I am praying!

  9. Diane says:

    Hey Licia…

    I read and viewed all the way to the end of your post!!! I was so thankful to see your joke about the joining the lady on the table!!! Hang onto your humor, it serves you well!!!

    AND…speaking of serving….you do that so very well!!!

    Praying.

  10. Leah says:

    Praying for you from Alaska.

    I cannot imagine being there and seeing these things. God sure does have His hand over the center, and He is using you in a big way.

    A Sister in Christ,
    Leah

  11. I found out about your center through the Jamie Ivey’s blog, and I forwarded your information and needs to the tithe committee at our church here in Houston. Hopefully they will be able to help you soon. I am praying for your needs, the needs of your community and that God would multiply your rest when you get it. Bless you.

  12. Carmen says:

    Praying and praying for you and all those around you.

  13. Sarah says:

    I can’t get over the bridge. The water must have been coming so strong, it still appears to be VERY strong… I am praying that the river calms down and they can get the bridge fixed as well as the water line soon! And in the meantime we are praying that enough funds come in to help you to recover!! Its good to hear that you can still make a joke!
    On my knees…
    Love,
    Sarah

  14. evanweatherford says:

    I came to your blog through Aaron Ivey’s blog, and was blown away. Not just by the hurricane but by your heart to help these hurting children. I’m praying for you all and trying to help out by joining the fundraising force.

    If I were you I would’ve already joined that woman 🙂 The Lord is strong through you.

  15. Angie, RN says:

    We are praying for you all. Cannot imagine what you are going through right now, but we are asking God to give you grace and strength!

Leave a Reply

