A special little guy….

 

I have know the boy above for a few years now.  He has a great story.  I love him.  I  have learned over the years, for me personally, to try not to attach myself to the children that come into our facility.  It is just to hard, when they leave, when they die, when you are just a part of there lives for a few months.  That is how I deal with it; to love but keep my distance.  I love all the kids.  I try my best to be there for them when they need a hug, when they need a friend, when they need someone to just give them a little attention.  It is hard to not love them all in a special way, really hard at times.  The little guy above has been through so much in his short live.  He has had a lot of sickness, neglect and pain.  Since I have been living with him each day, seeing him change and develop from a shy little guy that hardly ever smiled into a wild, funny, laughing all the time, cute kid; I have fallen in love with him.  He has changed so much in the last few months.  He is growing into a loving, caring little boy that loves life.  I am so happy that he has a family to go to.  A great family that will love him forever, spoil him, and give him all he will ever need.  They love him so much.  And for that I am grateful. He has a great few days with some family this past week.  They really connected and bonded in a special way.   When they (the familymember)  was here last week he stayed in another house with them.  I was dishing the food up for the kids, I always get three bowls out for the little guys.  I dished up three serving of food, turned around and called all three of the little boys, and he was not there.  It hit me in an odd way.  He has become a part of my daily life, our families daily life. It is hard to love him knowing he will be leaving, It is hard not to love him with all my heart when he is here.   I will miss him, but am excited for the coming years of his life.  I think that I am blessed that I get to be a small part of his life.  I am excited about his future and what God has in store for him.  He has touched so many already.  J & A I love you guys and am so thankful that God has chosen you for him.  God is so good.  Thank you for letting me be on this journey with you. He will forever have a special place in my heart.

9 Responses to A special little guy….

  1. Tamara Cosby says:

    Oh you make me cry happy tears…you are loved from Tennessee…a lot!!!

  2. oh my gosh!!! i love this little boy so much!!!!!! thanks for EVERYTHING you do… for this beautiful boy and EVERY child that comes through your doors… we are fans for life.

  3. debraparker says:

    this is so beautiful!!

  4. Laura says:

    I would say that little boy already has a strong legacy of love! God has some special plans for that little guy!

  5. Angie, RN says:

    Thanks for sharing your heart with all of us!

  6. gingerswann says:

    he is one loved little boy! that smile melts my heart everytime i see pictures–i love it.

  7. […] got to spend time with her sweet kids in haiti last week. check out licia’s sweet words and adorable picture–that smile melts my heart […]

  8. Stephanie says:

    Your compassion and love is so evident in this post (and in all you do) … GOD bless you!

Leave a Reply

