2 died, 4 went home, 3 new arrivals

 2 DIED

There have been two children die within the last 12 hours.  The first is Jeannel.  He was admitted last week.  He was suffering from Kwashiorkor and had been sick for several weeks.  Yesterday he refused to eat or drink anything.  I put a feeding tube down yesterday afternoon.  He died this AM.

This happens with lots of kids skin with Kwashiorkor.  It begins to break down.

Jeruis died this afternoon.  He had not been well since yesterday and had not reponded to anyone since this AM.

********************************************

I am clearing out as many children as I can.  I want the center to be ready for the next few months.  With many gardens destroyed, finding food is going to become more difficult.

4 Going home

Leonie has been here on and off for the past 3 years.  She went home this week.

Pascal was here several months ago when his face swelled from some type of allergic reaction.  He came back a few weeks ago and his face was swollen again.   He is better now and returned home this week.

Schnaider came in a few weeks ago, after the flood.  He had cut his leg and got it stitched up some place else.  When all the rains and flooding happened he tied his leg up with rags to try and keep it protected.  His leg got a huge infection and it split opened.  He family filled the wound up with powder.  It was very infected and painful. 

Here is his leg healed today and he went home.  He and his mother were so thankful.

Michelot has been here for over a year.

He has changed so much!  His dad was so thankful and happy to return home with him.

3 New children admitted

This is Bernadette.  She is 19 months old and weighs 17 pounds.  She is in the beginning stages of kwashiorkor.  She has five other siblings and her mother is pregnant again. 

This is Rosley.  He is from Cabaret.  He developed many abcess on his head and neck this past week.  His mother is unable to travel each day for dressing changes, so he is going to stay here for a few weeks.  He is 9 months old and weighs 12 pounds.

This is Erlanta. She is 5 years old and weighs 32 pounds.  She is suffering from severe kwashiorkor.  She has 3 other siblings at home.  I asked the dad how many times she has suffered  from kwashiorkor in her life time.  He said he could not tell me as it was to many to count.  When she begins to retain water and swell-up he knows what food to feed her to help her.  So we talked for awhile and I asked what was happening this time.  He said there is no food for his children.  IF they eat today, they will not eat tomorrow.  So on the days they do not have food to eat they make sugar water to give the kids to fill there stomachs up.   Her foot has split open.  When the dad picked her up to put her on the table there was literally water dripping out of the opened wound.  On the table beside her, behind the pulled curtain, lay the first child that had died today, from the same illness, not nearly as bad as she is.  I told the dad that his daughter had more of a chance to die than to live right now.  He said he knew that, but what else could he do.

Pray………..don’t look away.

10 Responses to 2 died, 4 went home, 3 new arrivals

  1. Leah says:

    praying.

    ~Leah in Alaska

  2. Amblin says:

    I would never look away. Even when it’s so very painful. I am praying … oh Lord hear me please, I am praying.

  3. Laura says:

    Thank you for all that you do. I look at your blog every day and it reminds me of the “good life” that we lead here in the USA. It makes me so sad and also I am disgusted by the way I take so many things for granted. Thank you for putting things in perspective for me.

  4. […] It’s like that in life right?  Days that are light days and days that are heavy days?  I’m at work, quickly checking some blogs as I get ready to post a blog today for Wayfarer and a race happening this weekend for some of the ladies of Wayfarer and I check in with Licia and what’s happening at the Rescue Center to See the post 2 died, 4 went home, 3 new arrivals.  […]

  5. Jessica says:

    I pray…I weep…I pray. May God strengthen you today, may God give strength to those children.

  6. Cheryl says:

    It is impossible for me to look away. These kids and their families bring me to tears every time. Praying fervently here in Michigan.

  7. Jenny says:

    praying!

  8. Sarah says:

    Praying with tears.
    Love you my friend.
    Sarah

  9. kathy says:

    Praying.

Leave a Reply

