Home school–Praise report!

I have been home schooling my boys, Carmelo for 6 years and Henley for 3 years now.  It is the only choice that we have right now for them.   We cannot travel back and forth to Port-au-Prince everyday for them to attend a school and we could not afford it even if we lived closer.  I love the program that we use from The Jubilee Academy.  It is great for our needs and I feel like its a good program for them. 

School is Mon-Fri.  We try to get going and be done by 1pm.  That does not happen often.  It is totally my fault.  I have so many interruptions….to many to count.  Most are emergencies or things that I really have to take care of quickly.  A sick child, a new admit to the RC, a child that has died, a bad injury, Lori calling and saying you need to come see this because you will never see anything like this again….you get the picture.  I have tried to “hide out” in a room in the house, but they always find me 🙂  After the flood and everything that has happened in the past month, I felt like I could not do it anymore.  I felt like I was letting my boys down, I felt like I was stretched to thin and pulled in every direction.

I sent an email out to my family and close friends and asked if anyone knew of someone that would be willing to help me to educate my boys and take some pressure off of me.  One of these friends, okay it was Jamie I.  asked me if she could pass it along to some people she knew.  I said sure.  She did and little did we know that God was already making plans for us.

A MK in Mexico had been praying. She felt like God was calling her to go help another missionary, and to specifically help them with homeschooling their children.  What?  Yes, she wanted to help someone that really needed help someone that was just like me.  We have been emailing with her and her family this past month.  She is coming Jan-July.  To tell you that I am excited does not even begin to describe what is inside of me.  I see a light at the end of the tunnel.  I have hope…..

I want to thank all of you that specifically pray for us.  We LOVE, LOVE, LOVE what we do here. We would not choose to live anywhere else.   We have learned over the years that God always provides….always…always…always provides what we need.  I love God and I thank Him so much for meeting this need that may seem like nothing to some people but is a huge blessing to me.  God is so awsome like that.   I encourage you to thank Him today for what He is doing in your life ..whether it be small or large.

Colossians 2:6-7 (The Message)

 6-7My counsel for you is simple and straightforward: Just go ahead with what you’ve been given. You received Christ Jesus, the Master; now live him. You’re deeply rooted in him. You’re well constructed upon him. You know your way around the faith. Now do what you’ve been taught. School’s out; quit studying the subject and start living it! And let your living spill over into thanksgiving.

Philippians 4:19-20 (The Message)

 19-20 You can be sure that God will take care of everything you need, his generosity exceeding even yours in the glory that pours from Jesus. Our God and Father abounds in glory that just pours out into eternity. Yes. 

8 Responses to Home school–Praise report!

  1. debraparker says:

    Awesome News.

    God is so good!

  2. Tess says:

    Licia-that is so cool! I am so happy for you. From someone who has stepped inside another missionaries home for a few months—it was a HUGE blessing to me! The blessing goes both ways.

  3. yippee – so glad this will work out for you guys!

  4. Stephanie says:

    This is SO awesome!! I am thrilled and rejoicing with you!!

  5. christine says:

    Isn’t God SO FUN the way He gets things done!?! From Haiti to Texas to Oklahoma to Mexico.

    Love my God. LOVE Him!

  6. Andrea Schmick says:

    Fabulous! Rejoicing with you as His providence is always timely! :o)

  7. Bekki says:

    Happy dancing and singin’ a little song of praise. God ROCKS! ooooo – I have goosebumps over this one! sending you love!

  8. Wow! What an amazing God we serve. I was just reading Ephesians 1 and was reminded that we don’t have a need that exceeds God’s power. Beth Moore says it is “incomparable power in the lives of those who continue believing in Him.” Active faith. No doubt you’ve got that. And while God uses you to bless the lives of so many in Haiti, He also uses you to teach me that He is enough for everything. How loving and how good is our Father that He would provide a helper for you when you really need one. Glory to God in the Highest! I pray He continues to keep you as you continue to serve Him.

Leave a Reply

