Jn Renold

Jn Renold died Wednesday afternoon.  He was sitting up and walking on Tuesday.  Starting going down hill during the night.  We put an IV in in the morning and he was in a state of dying for several hours.  It was sad.  I wanted him to live, I wanted to make him better, I wanted him to feel more love, I wanted him to feel healthy, I wanted to see him running around like the other kids, I wanted more for his little life.  A child that no family wanted, his mother was dead, his dad I never knew, just his step-mom who did not want him.  The morning he died was a normal morning for me.  I was trying so hard to get school done for the boys before lunch.  They came up and got me two times to tell me he was getting worse.  I went down and rubbed his head for awhile. He was dying and I knew it.  There was not much that I could do.  I then returned to finish school.  Again they came and said the end was near.  I made a difficult decision to stay and finish school with the boys.

nov-6-08-a-0011

nov-6-08-a-003

They came about 15 minutes later and told me that he had died.  I felt down and discouraged.  I went down to the clinic.  There were many patients waiting to be seen.  Several were asking the workers about the child that had died.  Many were upset that such a small child had died.  Jeanne and I went in to bath the body.  How can a 3 year old only weigh 14 pounds.  That is not right, that is not normal, that is not fair.  His little bones were sticking out, he was starving, they waiting to long to bring him, he had been staving for a long time.

nov-6-08-a-033

When I wrapped his dead body in a white drap, I was sad.  I wanted him to feel loved and wanted by someone.

nov-6-08-a-025

The casket came and again a new group of patients came in through the clinic.  A few were talking about the small casket leaving.  The man that dug the grave put the small casket on his head and walked down the road to the grave yard.  Someone out front said “Bondye ap fe travay li” translated “God is doing His work.  And it hit me…yes He was. He was doing His work.  Why worry about it He is taking care of it.  He is in charge. Do you believe that? I do………. I do not believe that God sent Jn Ronald to suffer, starve to death, and be unwanted and unloved.  But I do believe that He loved HIm and thought enough is enough lets just bring him on up here with us.  I believe my mom was there welcoming him in to heaven showing him around and loving on him…loving him like he needed to be loved here on earth.

Living is death; dying is life. On this side of the grave we are exiles, on that, citizens; on this side, orphans, on that, children; on this side, captives; on that, freemen; on this side, disguised, unknown; on that, disclosed and proclaimed as the sons of God. –Henry Ward Beecher

Psalm 138:7-8 (NIV)

 7 Though I walk in the midst of trouble,
       you preserve my life;
       you stretch out your hand against the anger of my foes,
       with your right hand you save me.

 8 The LORD will fulfill his purpose for me;
       your love, O LORD, endures forever—
       do not abandon the works of your hands

11 Responses to Jn Renold

  1. Bekki says:

    Jn Renold’s original photos and story touched my heart – I am so sad that he never knew love here on earth until his last days in your care. I cannot wait to hold him in my arms in Heaven.

  2. Tara Livesay says:

    Love you guys … as always I am sad to hear or these difficult things and praying for you both.

  3. JG says:

    I am crying….I am sooo very sad…. I wanted him. I wanted soo much for him to feel loved and to feel wanted by a family. However, God loved and wanted him more. I pray for peace for those of us touched by his story.

  4. ange says:

    Sometimes God choses a different way to heal than what we would have chosen. Now that this little one is healed completely I will pray for healing for those who were left behind hurting. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think of the work you are doing and the lives you have touched. I can always look at your family and see that you are the hands and feet and even when the work is hard and you are so worn out, the Lord gives you strength. I am sure he did feel loved while he was in your care because you truly care, Jesus’ love works like that!
    ange

  5. My faith is so encouraged by your posts. Thank you for loving so deeply, thank you for trusting our Lord. Your work never ends, yet I see you relying on God for strength, and on Jesus for your peace. May God continue to pour out His grace and mercy on you and those in your clinic.

  6. Diane says:

    My heart is singing to know that God wanted sweet little Jn Renold, that He so loves the littlest ones.

    Thank you, L, for helping and preparing little JR to return HOME, ahh, what a wonderful feeling for Jn Renold…no more pain, no more hunger. I too, just smile at your Mama waiting with her arms open to welcome home her little Brother in Christ, little Jn Renold.

    Stop by here often, don’t always post….just know your family is prayed for by our family much!!!

  7. Amy says:

    Beautifully writtten…thank you for loving him. He has more love than he knows what to do with now in heaven! Praise God!

    ~Amy in Wisconsin

  8. Lena says:

    Thank you for sharing this. I am so sorry for this precious little boy. I am grateful for the work you are doing. You are in my prayers.

  9. Stephanie says:

    I am crying as I leave this comment … it seems like the suffering never ends for Haiti and her little ones … but thank you for the reminder that Jn Renold’s suffering HAS ended and he is now truly loved and wanted for eternity.

  10. Ericka says:

    Oh honey, I’m so sorry.

  11. Sarah says:

    Oh my. Between the school collapse news and this post, I admit, I almost couldn’t finish reading. (Which is the exact problem- its easier NOT to know these things- because when we are here warm, healthy, FULL, its hard to even go there emotionally… ) I just need to know when Haiti is going to get a break. When is the great news going to pour out of Haiti and hit the headlines? Thank you for being there and giving love and caring… and listening and witnessing and still going on.
    You and your family are so loved and appreciated.
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

