3 duck eggs

 

Someone stopped me yesterday and said they had a gift for me.  I did not remember her face or what I helped her with in the past.  She told me she did not have much to give but wanted to give me something to thank me.   I am sure that she left very early that morning as there is a full moon right now.  The eggs made there way down the steep path that crisscrossed around and up and down the mountains.  To keep them from breaking, the eggs were wrapped up in paper and then put into a tin cup.  When she arrived in front of the clinic gate it was still dark out.  There was already a line that had formed for those waiting on a number to be seen.  She took her place in line and waiting.  The staff began giving the cards  at 6am.  She waited her turn to get inside and made her way through several lines to finally arrive at the nurses station.  She then waited for me to pass by so she could give the gift to me.  I thanked her and was able to talk with her for a minute or two.    She was so thankful that we had helped out a family member for her.  She told me that she prays for us everyday.   I love getting these priceless gifts from the heart.  

The gift…three eggs from her duck. 

jan-1232009-a-004

jan-1232009-a-006

Mark 12:42-45 (The Message)

 

 41-44Sitting across from the offering box, he was observing how the crowd tossed money in for the collection. Many of the rich were making large contributions. One poor widow came up and put in two small coins—a measly two cents. Jesus called his disciples over and said, “The truth is that this poor widow gave more to the collection than all the others put together. All the others gave what they’ll never miss; she gave extravagantly what she couldn’t afford—she gave her all.”

Are you giving your all to God?

3 Responses to 3 duck eggs

  1. Lisa keefer says:

    It is amazing that these people have nothing but they will give you something…I love these people with all my heart..when we were there doing a clinic they were the most appreciated people that i have ever met in my life…how I long to be back there and being the RN that God wants me to be…Thank you for posting on all of this even the bad and the babies dying it still reminds me of how much God loves us..and how he blesses the poor..everyone needs to come to Haiti..

  2. jennifer says:

    beautiful. thy Kingdom come, thy will be done.

  3. Angie, RN says:

    Thats a neat story. When we do things in Jesus’ name He blesses us even when we don’t realize it. God is good and its obvious that the lady thought so too!

Leave a Reply

