New children….

Little Moseline died over the weekend as well as Operet ( the child with the cleft lip/palete).  These were both very difficult for me to deal with.  Very draining and very not fair in my eyes.  Moseline’s mom is still here and is planning to return home on Saturday. 

There is a new team that arrived today.  They are from Hickory Grove Church in Delphi, IN.  This is an 8 member team 4 ladies and 4 men.  We are looking forward to having a great week with them.  Lots of fun things planned.

 I have admitted 6 new children into the RC this past week, 4 of them today.

 

This is Joana.  She is 16 months old and weighs 15.8 pounds.  She is suffering from kwashiorkor, fever and a cold. 

joana1

This is Milienne.  She is 4 years old and weighs 14 pounds.  Let me write that again-4 years old and 14 pounds.  Both of her parent have died.  She was brought to the clinic by her aunt today.  Her aunt told me she could not take care of her and did not want her.  I asked why?  She said that she has to leave her at home during the day to work.  She cannot take care of her.  I asked her if she really did not want her or if the way life was that made her not want her.  She said life here is hard.  She will not give her up for adoption.  She was walking and talking a few months ago.  She is unable to do both now. She can lock her legs and lean on you, but not support her weight.  She needs your prayers. 4 years old and 14 pounds.

milienne1

This is Sineldo.  She was reffered to us by a clinic at Mission Lifeline.  She is 15 months old and weighs 17 pounds.  Also suffering from kwashiorkor.  She is not eating or drinking milk well. 

sineldo1

 This is Tchelo. He is 5 months old and a healthy baby.  His mom died just a few weeks ago.  The father is unable to work and take care of the baby.  He tried to leave the child with someone and they were not watching him well.  He has two other children to support and has to work.  He wants us to keep him for a few months until he can figure out what to do for his third son.

tchelo2

This is Louisse.  He is 5 years old and weighs 29 pounds.  A few weeks ago his body was so swollen from the effect of kwwashiorkor his family could not carry him to the clinic.  He is in a delicate stage right now.   He is also the brother of two twins girls here Faith and Hope. 

louisse

This is Davidson.  His dad arrived here on Monday afternoon.  He had walked down to the clinic over 6 hours.  His first son and only child fell into a pot of hot bean sauce. He was working in the field and they came and told him.  He ran home and did not even change his clothes.  He grabbed his son and took off for the clinic.  He was so worried about his wife, he said she was very upset when he left and it was so late that he was not going to be able to make it back up that night to see if she was okay.  A very loving and caring father.  He is burned on his back and over a large part of his head.

davidson5

I feel like this post has no emotion at all from me in it.  I felling emotionally drained.  Not  just drained, dried up and shrived up with no water in site to replished me.  I have been listening to this song today over and over today.  Because I need Him and I feel like I am going under at times.  I need you God!  I need a week with no death, no suffering, no pain, no hunger, no problems, no worries, I am just feeling like that is not in the plan of life right now for me.  Pray for me.

When I think I’m going under, part the waters, Lord
When I feel the waves around me, calm the sea
When I cry for help, oh, hear me
Lord and hold out Your hand
Touch my life
Still the raging storm in me
I need Thee every hour, most gracious Lord
No tender voice like Thine can peace afford

REFRAIN

I need Thee, O I need Thee
Every hour I need Thee
O bless me now, my Savior
I come to Thee

I need Thee every hour, in joy or pain
Come quickly and abide, or life is vain

17 Responses to New children….

  1. christine says:

    Right now, Licia, I am praying for you.

  2. Amy G says:

    My heart is breaking as I read about these children. I can’t imagine what they go through, and what you go through taking care of them. I am praying for you and the others at the rescue center.

  3. Bekki says:

    praying for you, Licia. In all this – God still reigns. Just one day at a time, Licia dear. Do you know the worship song:
    Father God, just for today,
    Help me walk Your narrow way
    Help me stand if I should fall
    give me the strength to hear Your call
    May my steps be worship
    May my thoughts be praise
    May my words bring honor to Your name
    May my steps be worship
    May my thoughs be praise
    May my words bring honor to Your name.

    Keep standing and remember you are never alone.

  4. littlefam says:

    Licia we are praying right now! The Lord be with you through these trials.

  5. Elicia says:

    Licia,
    You are always on my heart, but you will be in my prayers throughout the week. I am so sorry for the burdens you are bearing right now. You are such an amazing example to me of truly living as Jesus’ hands and feet. Thank you for putting names and faces on these children to help us remember them. It is a hard and fallen world we live in, and thank you God that we are on a pilgramage and just passing through!
    Hugs and know that prayers are being said for you, Lori and your sweet families in Boise!

  6. Phoebe says:

    God bless, bless, bless you for caring for these children, opening your heart to them even when it hurts. I’m praying for you

  7. Amblin says:

    I am praying right now also. (((hugs)))

  8. Kathy says:

    I am sorry to hear about the new little one dying.

  9. Heather says:

    I am praying for you and for Germine. I don’t understand. I am just so sorry. Praying for comfort and peace in the face of the unfathomable.

  10. Sandy Kinnaman says:

    Licia, praying for you and the staff right now. Such trials-praying for the little ones too.

  11. Annette says:

    “Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea. I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain [or hunger], for the old order of things has passed away. He who was seated on the throne said, I am making everything new! Then he said, Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.” Rev. 21:1-5

    I know these words don’t make things better at this time. You are still in the middle of heartbreaking situations and there is just nothing that can be said to explain them or make them better. But I pray that these words from Revelations give you some encouragement as we remember our ultimate source of hope.

  12. heart4haiti2 says:

    Dear Dear Licia,
    It’s okay that your emotions have drainned and dryed up. It does not mean you do not feel anymore or do not care.
    It is the loving hand of God our Father, just giving you a rest, it is His grace.
    When I worked in the medical field, I would feel the same way sometimes and then I understood that God was making it possible for me to just do what I had to do without letting my emotions get in my way.
    You are grafted in the TRUE VINE, and all that you do speaks of the Life of Christ.
    I love you dear sister,
    Deb

  13. Jen says:

    Praying for you, and for these sweet children. Let God fill you with his love, and lean on him when the weight of your burden is too much for you to carry. He wants to hold you and love on you, sweet woman.

  14. dawn says:

    I am crying as I read this. I think for those of us over here, it is such a helpless feeling. We want to make it better for you, but know that there is no “better” around the corner. Please know that we are praying. For peace. For comfort. For rest. For strength. We love you so very much.

    “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

    dawn

  15. Angie, RN says:

    We will be praying that God will give you strength to serve Him. I cannot imagine having to go through what you have to on a weekly basis. You are so right. Children should not be dying like this. May God grant you the strength and the peace that you need right now. And may God bless and heal these little lives God has intrusted to you to help in His name. God bless!

  16. Emily says:

    Dear Licia,

    Thank you so much for pouring out your heart here so that we would know to lift you before our Father. I cannot imagine how incredibly difficult it is to be in your shoes, and yet I know that He uses you mightily in His kingdom!

    Oddly enough, even here in the U.S., I have had felt a small share of grief over dead and sick babies over the last month. (A friend lost a baby to SIDS after Christmas, another almost lost a baby w/ seizure disorder, and I got to hold Baby Bear for 6 hours on Sunday, which was such a blessing!) The verse that has comforted me in my grief over the suffering/death of these little ones has been Jeremiah 31:2-3: “Thus says the LORD: ‘The people who survived the sword found grace in the wilderness; when Israel sought for rest, the LORD appeared to him from far away. I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore I have continued my faithfulness to you.’ ” I am praying that you would find grace in the wilderness tonight, dear sister in Christ! He IS faithful; even when it feels like he is so far away. Blessings, Licia!

  17. Roberta says:

    Oh, I can’t stop crying after reading this. Just wanted to let you know that there are more prayers being lifted up for you and for those sweet little ones that are there with you right now.

Leave a Reply

