Two true stories…

This post is not for children to read

This post is written by me

 These  are two things that happened this week to me with two different situations

I do not want you to think every family it like this, I do not want you to think that all lives are terrible here.  I want you to think about what you would do in their situations.  It is so easy to say we would not put up with it.  But if we were hungry and our children were starving would we??

may-5-07-023

This week a lady came to me and asked if she could talk to me.  She has had 14 children.  Two have died and she has given up two for adoption.  So she has 10 that she is taking care of.  Two different fathers involved.  The man she is with now is the father of 5 of these children.  He is not supportive of her or the children.  He comes and goes as he pleases, but maybe once  a month he will leave a little money to buy food for them to eat.  So she puts up with it.   He takes things from the houses and sells them, he has other women,  and she knows it.  He has a source of income from some place (besides stealing from her) but she is not really sure what work he does.  So this week he came to the house and took some more things out to sell.  She got mad and starting yelling at him.  He got mad and took a machete and said he was going to kill her if she did not shut up.  So I am listening to her and thinking what a terrible story, but I have heard this same story over and over again from other women.  She told me that she is not letting the guy back in the house, she is done with him.   Then she said this is what I need help with today.  I am thinking she is going to ask me for food, money, clothes something along those lines.  She said she wanted a  birth control shot.  So I said okay, but I thought you were kicking him to the curb.   Yes, she was going  to get rid of him.  She wanted  the shot so she would not get pregnant again.  She then told me that she can sleep with someone for the price of $2.50.  This will buy her a plate of food for a few of the kids.   She will do this for awhile until she can find some other way to make money for her and the kids.  A lady sitting on the bench beside us heard us talking and said that she should be able to get $12.50 and not $2.50.  They talked like this was a normal conversation.

jan-29-2009-a-011

The feet above belong to a little boy that was 15 months old  named Lucker.  His feet are that swollen because he has kwashiorkor.  A nurse, from the clinic,  called me on Thursday morning to say there was a child that I needed to admit into the RC.  I went and found some of the team members.  They had asked that I call them when I admitted any new kids this week.  As we were coming around the corner to see the child, Lori had just arrived at the same time.  The child made eye contact with Lori and took his last breath.  His grandmother was holding him she did not know that he has just died in her arms.  We took him into the clinic to confirm what we already knew, that yes, he was dead.  Of course I wanted to know the story of why this had to happen.  I should not have asked.  The mother is pregnant now, which means as soon as she was pregnant she stopped breastfeeding Luckner.  She could not provide enough good food packed full of protein and vitamins for him, so he in turn became malnourished.    She is pregnant with a different man than her other children.  He does not want to take care of the two kids she had with another man.  So what does he do?  Well she had been to the clinic on Wednesday, with her first son.  The new boyfriend had given him boiling water to drink.  The water had burned the boys mouth and throat.  While the mom was here at the clinic there were worse things going on at home for the one above.  The new boyfriend was giving the child bleach to drink.  Then he tied a cord around his neck and was draging him around the house by the cord around his neck.  The mother got home and found out what had happened.  She went to the police and gave a report.  The boyfriend, took off and he cannot be found now.  The grandmother of course, was very upset. 

jan-29-2009-a-010

These ladies cannot call the local shelter, they cannot even depend on the police to help, they cannot move away to a new town, there are not jobs here to be found, many just put up with the abuse because “he” can provide some money so they can eat.  Giving them food or money might help them today but it will not help them forever. 

For the first lady I gave her food and money and the shot.  I told her that we needed to come up with a better plan for her and the kids.  When she had child number 14 she almost died, the doctors told her not to have anymore children.    We paid for her to be taken into another hospital to deliver a beautiful baby girl. 

For the second, I have not seen the mother yet.  But I think I would give her a hug.  We called the judge here in Cazale.  He took down a statement from the grandmother.  They live in a different section so the judge cannot do much to help.  He also gave us a paper to transport the body and grandmother back to the house.  We had a casket made and dad took them back home.  I told them to come back and see me on Tuesday.

jan-29-2009-a-038

20 Responses to Two true stories…

  1. Laura Ingram says:

    oh my goodness Licia. I can not imagine your emotions in hearing these stories. It is so unimaginable. I am praying for these children and the lady that asked for the shot. Know you are supported and loved and prayed for daily!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Licia, There are just no words. May God give you the wisdom and strength to minister healing and grace in the face of such desperation and devastation!

  3. Stephanie Mueller says:

    Thank you for having the courage and strength to do what you do and keeping us updated even though I am sure it is hard to blog about. I continue to pray for you all to have the resources and strength you need to continue to change and save lives, and for the people of Haiti.
    Stephanie

  4. Bekki says:

    Father God, please be with Licia, with Lori, with the others at RHFH, with the poeple they minister to, with the unreached people of Haiti. Father, it hurts to see how people live sometimes. It hurts to see children hurting, starving, dying. It hurts to see mothers desperate to feed a child. It hurts to realize how little help we can be. We only ask that You send Your grace to these people. Give us the strength and wisdom to help those we can. Bless Licia now, Father, with peace. Send Your love to lift her. Let our love for her be felt.

  5. Amy G says:

    I cannot even imagine. My heart goes out to you, all of the other workers at the rescue center, these precious, precious children, and the moms who are desperately trying to take care of their children. Praying.

  6. Missy Wood says:

    Licia, Readers like us, will never be able to understand what you go through, but we know of someone who does understand. My family and I pray daily that Jesus will be your comfort and that you can help those in Haiti to understand that He can comfort them too. I don’t know how you get up in the morning, knowing you will be faced with stories like these. However, I am praying that God will give you the strength you need to minister to the hurting/dying. I thank God that you and your family have been obedient and are suffering right along with them. You truly are “suffering for Jesus!” I pray God will truly bless you and your family, and the families you minister to.

  7. teresa says:

    Thank you for sharing. Your love for others and faithfulness to him in the midst of extreme pain and hopelessness all around encourage me to follow and believe him more fully and praise him in the storms. He is using you in mighty, mighty ways…many of which you will not ever know on this Earth girlfriend…but the effects are eternal and last forever and always.

  8. Jodie says:

    We are in process of adopting two beautiful girls from Haiti, and I am preparing to make my fifth trip down. The country and the people are so beautiful, but at the same time, so heinous. When I read stories like this, or about children as slaves and being made to kneel on salted cheese graters, I want to come down there and beat the living tar out of some of these people. But I know that’s not what Jesus calls us to do. So I pray.

    I don’t know how you handle this day after day. I pray God gives you continued wisdom, peace and ability to do what you do. You truly are a blessing to those you help, and those of us who read about what you do.

  9. dawn says:

    Praying. And thanking God that there is rest in His arms for the “least of these”. I pray that the rest of the world wakes up and begins to care. My heart is with you daily.
    dawn

  10. Angie, RN says:

    I don’t even know what to say. I cannot imagine dealing with that. What do you say to a lady who needs to feed her children and feels the only way to do it to sell her body. Then the last story made me sick. I pray that God will give that mom the strength to go on. I also pray that they find that man who did this and he will pay for his crime. How sad.

  11. Emily says:

    OH, Licia,

    My heart breaks for you and for these women in Haiti who feel so trapped. I pray that they might know the true freedom that is found in Christ, and that you might know the encouragement of the Holy Spirit to persevere in ministry to them for His name’s sake.

    May the peace of Christ be with you!!!

  12. Ericka says:

    These women may not have shelters, but I think God they have You and Lori. You two are the best shelters of God’s love and Jesus’ work.

  13. jennifer says:

    i am so sorry you had to go through that. what incredibly tough decisions. I would have given her the shot as well…

  14. Sandy Kinnaman says:

    Licia, praying for you and those who have to help make decisions such as you have described. God does give wisdom and His way is much higher than any we could think of. I cannot even imagine having to live as these women do. I do not judge because I do not know what I would do. I just pray they will find Jesus and He will give them wisdom too. I thank my God that HE IS IN CONTROL even when it doesn’t look like it to us. If He weren’t, where would we be?
    My love and prayers to you, Sandy

  15. Cindy Lambert says:

    Licia, The song you quoted is one of my favorites(off one of my favorite
    albums) Plese listen to track You Raise Me up by Selah.
    I LOVE YOU & LORI & DAD AND THE WORK YOU DO!!!
    God HAS blessed you!!! I have,am and will continue to pray for you.

  16. Aimee says:

    Wow! We take so much for granted and are to quick to judge. It makes me stop and think. Thanks for sharing and for all you are doing!

  17. jallcroft says:

    You know, this morning I was considering my financial sufferings – I have creditors calling about 15-20 times a day (at least) and I am unable to pay all my bills. It may come to the point where we lose our house – I don’t know. But I DO know that I have not yet had to consider selling my body for $2.50 so that I can feed not all, but at least a few of my children. I don’t want to negate the stress that I am feeling because it is a real struggle in our life, but I WILL NOT forget that there are those whose struggles do not even compare to what most feel is unthinkable. I cannot imagine trying to save one child while another at home is being tortured. I cannot begin to imagine what you must feel when you not only hear the stories, but are face to face with the ones telling them. To be that close to the pain.
    You are Jesus with skin on to these people. I don’t know you – I just read your blog – but I am proud of you. I want to honor your willingness to do for the least of these, to live out of your comfort zone to follow where God has called you. God must be so proud of you, His sweet child.

    Ps. 119:28 says “my soul is weary with sorrow; strengthen me according to your word.” I want to leave you with a couple verses that will hopefully strengthen you according to His word…

    Isaiah 40:27-31
    Why would you ever complain, O Jacob,
    or, whine, Israel, saying,
    “God has lost track of me.
    He doesn’t care what happens to me”?
    Don’t you know anything? Haven’t you been listening?
    God doesn’t come and go. God lasts.
    He’s Creator of all you can see or imagine.
    He doesn’t get tired out, doesn’t pause to catch his breath.
    And he knows everything, inside and out.
    He energizes those who get tired,
    gives fresh strength to dropouts.
    For even young people tire and drop out,
    young folk in their prime stumble and fall.
    But those who wait upon God get fresh strength.
    They spread their wings and soar like eagles,
    They run and don’t get tired,
    they walk and don’t lag behind.

    Galations 6:9-10
    So let’s not allow ourselves to get fatigued doing good. At the right time we will harvest a good crop if we don’t give up, or quit. Right now, therefore, every time we get the chance, let us work for the benefit of all, starting with the people closest to us in the community of faith.

    Keep up the good work, Licia and Lori (and your dad) – please know that there are those on the other side of the computer screen who are praying for you and those to whom you minister.

    Blessings and hugs,
    Jennifer

  18. Martín says:

    With all do respect, I am sorry if I sound unpolite but I just can’t look at what is going on and keep silent:

    Jennifer & Co,
    stop wasting time praying and reading a book and go do something. Not to brag about it, but I give away every month (a lot, actually) money to 2 girls in Paraguay so instead of being prostitutes they can study in university. Think of my as a poser if you want, but I just want to tell you that no pray can substitute ACTIONS.
    It reminds me a “joke” in which there was a flood and the priest didn’t want to leave the church. The neighbours come and tell him to leave, and he responds: “no, the Lord will save me”. Then the water was up to the second floor and the police comes in botes and tell him to leave, with them but he responds: “no, the Lord will save me”. When the water kept going up and he was up with the church bell, a helicopter came to take him and he responded: “no, the Lord will save me”.
    Some hours later he drowned. When he meets St. Peter up in heaven’s doors he was really pissed and went straight to God’s office and asked him why he didn’t save him. God looked at him over his glasses and answered: “I sent you people, then the police with a boat and finally a helicopter… what else did you want?!”

  19. Antonieta says:

    I really don´t know how I ended up reading your post, but I am sure it was meant to be. I have two children and reading your story gave me goosebumps. I am honestly schocked by this and will add these children and women to my prayers. I will keep reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

