Catching up……

Let us touch the dying, the poor, the lonely and the unwanted according to the graces we have received and let us not be ashamed or slow to do the humble work.
Mother Teresa

It has been way to long since I have updated on the kids in the RC!  I will tell you that as of today I am at 53!  It has been months since we were this low.  There is a whole table that is empty when the kids eat.  The ladies told me I need to fill it up.  But I am happy with the numbers we have now.  We will be “full” again in a few months.  So I am going to try and catch up with a few post.  This post is many new children that have been admitted within the past few weeks.

*********************************************

This is Loveca.  She is 11 months old and weighs 11 pounds.  She has diar, vomiting, fever of 101, itching and a cold. 

lovencia

This is Alphonce.  This little guy is 5 months old and weighs 8 pounds.  His mother has been sick for several months.  She is bedridden and cannot walk.  The dad has been trying to take care of his only son and the mom and work.  He just cannot do it all.  They have had two other children and both have died.

alphonce1

When a child is admitted the first thing we do is give them a bath and treat them for scabies.  When we took his little hat off his head was a mess!  I asked the dad how long it had been since they washed his hair.  He said they had never washed it.  So since he was born he has NEVER had his hair washed.  This happens sometimes and they wait until the bones all come together in their heads.  So we soaped him up with lots of shampoo and let it sit for a few minutes.  We had to comb out the yuck stuff and it was yucky!

alphonce8

I told the ladies if only he could talk he would say thank you so much!  He looked like he felt better to me after his bath.

alphonce14

The lady on the bed is Juline.  She lives from very far away.  She went to a clinic by her house in the mountains.  She was coughing and having a hard time breathing.  The clinic close to her tested her for TB and it was negative.  They told her to go to the clinic in Cazale.  She lived far away and was  9 months pregnant.  Her husband sent her down the long way by tap-tap.  He came the short way by foot.  They were supposed to meet in Cazale.  She did not show up.  He went looking for her and found her in Cabaret.  She had delivered a 4 pound baby and was near death.  He somehow got her here and to the clinic.  When she came in she could not walk.  Her BP was 60/40.  We gave her IV fluids right away.  The baby was admitted into the RC and she was staying with some family in town.  Her legs and stomach are very swollen.  She was to come each day to get meds and shots.  She could did not come regular she was just to weak to get here.  So she was admitted today.  She is still in bad shape.

julaine

Here is little Juliane at 4 pounds. Forgot to mention that this is child #11.  There are 7 living and 4 have died–all when they were babies.

judliane12

This is Kettma. She is 21 months old and weighs 19 pounds.  She is suffering from kwashiorkor, coughing, diar and vomiting.  She is the only child.

feb-17-2009-a-123

This is Moise.  He is 2 years old and weighs 16 pounds.  He is very sick with a temp of 104.5 diar, coughing, vomiting.  He is in the beginning stages of kwashiorkor and has fought it twice before.

feb-5-2009-a-030

moise2

This is Marie Carme.  She is 5 years old and weighs 25 pounds.  Her mother dropped her of at grandma’s house and has been gone for months.  Grandma (in the pic below) says she cannot find food to feed her.  She will eat anything, but she just cannot buy it.  She is suffering from long-term kwashiorkor she has had it for months.

marie-carme

mariecarme3

This is Judalie.  She is 2 years old and weighs 10 pounds.  She is suffering from kwashiorkor.  Her mom is sick and dad is trying so hard to get her better. I took a picture below of all his cards from other clinic and doctors that he has been to.  He loves her and just wants her to get better.  When I asked him how many times she has suffered with kwashiorkor he said this makes 6 times.  I talked a long long time to him and told him that I would not be giving her medicine but food.  He was shocked.  I asked him if he would let me try with just food.  He said yes try but I think she needs medicine to make her better.  I said food will do it and God will help her to get better.  Pray for her.  

 feb-4-2009-b-027

 feb-4-2009-b-105

feb-4-2009-b-028

 This is Chirsnold.  He is 5 years old and weighs 31 pounds.  He is very small and tiny for his age.   

jan-28-2009-a-025

This is Mitha.  Her mom is crazy, so they tell me. She was born with a deformed leg.  The bone between her knee and ankle is not there.  She will be staying with us until she can have surgery.

mitha4

jan-31-2009-a-007

We all need to be more thankful right?  We need to thank God each day for the chance that He is giving us to minister, love and help others.  It is not something that should be hard or work to do.  We should be jumping up and down, praising Him, thanking Him for giving us the opturnity to serve Him yet again by loving, caring and showing His love to others.  A sick child, let me love them, a unwanted person let me love them, a mad, angry, person, let me covered them with His love,  a very unloveable person, let me wrap the arms of Jesus around Him, a person that needs some encouragement, God send me I am willing, I am here, I want to do all that you want me to do for YOU!  Are you ready…….now think about all God has given you all your blessings, no complaining, no feel sorry for me, no, no ask God what you can do today for HIM.  That is what its all about.  HIM not us.

Psalm 26:1-3 (The Message)

 

A David Psalm

 1 Clear my name, God; I’ve kept an honest shop.
   I’ve thrown in my lot with you, God, and
      I’m not budging.

 2 Examine me, God, from head to foot,
      order your battery of tests.
   Make sure I’m fit
      inside and out

 3 So I never lose
      sight of your love,
   But keep in step with you,
      never missing a beat.

5 Responses to Catching up……

  1. Diane says:

    Thanks, Licia. Keep loving those babies…they’ll grow up to be just like you! Thanking God for you tonight, Licia.

  2. Emily says:

    Licia,

    Thank you for your encouragement at the end of this post. I needed to hear it! While you were sick, I’ve been praying that you would get rest–real, spiritual rest. It sounds like the Lord, in his mercy, gave you rest and renewal in the most unlikely of circumstances! Thank you for loving so many so well!

  3. Kathy says:

    God bless you for all you do.

  4. Shawn says:

    Licia,
    Thanks so much for the update!!!!!!!!!!! A few of these are familiar faces from when we were there. Your post came at a great time – I needed the reminder of where my focus should and especially where it shouldnt be! You are such a selfless individual. May God continue to heal you and grant all who are part of the RC or the clinic physical and emotional strength. Of course, I have to send special kisses to Mitha! and Rosemani and Rosemari and Chrisnold…….ALL of them!

  5. Stephanie Mueller says:

    I love what you wrote at the end! I want to put it on my blog. Im so glad you are feeling better. Continuing to pray for you all there.
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

