death..

april-1-2009-b

It is after 9pm.  This is what awakes me in the room next to the office.  The little boy died today.  He was very malnourished and sick.  He has been here a week.  His name was Rodney.  He refused to eat or drink.  He talked to us.  We put a feeding tube down and put an IV in.  I did not have much hope that he would live.  Just this AM he was asking for milk and drinking.  I had hope that he would live when I saw this.  He died around 5pm.  I cannot get enough strength, force or anything that I need tonight to go in there with him and bath him and dress him and take a picture of him to give his mother.  I am so very tired of this kind of death.  The kind that just needed some love and food to make it all go away and not be a reality.  I have done this for many years, but tonight I do not want to do it again.  I want to go to bed and not think about it.  I want to live in my own little world and forget  all these things are all around me 24/7.  I want to believe that their are people praying, there are people that care, there are people that love these babies so much.  But tonight I just do not want to deal with this again.

21 Responses to death..

  1. Kathy says:

    God bless you and your work there. I cannot imagine.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Licia, I am so sorry. Thinking of you on this heartbreaking night.

  3. Cindy says:

    I have followed your blog for a long time, but your post tonight has really touched me beyond all others. I would give you a hug if I could, but all I can do is pray.

    Cindy

  4. Bekki says:

    Licia – I’m praying for you. Praying you will feel God’s arms around you. Praying for the bonds of evil to be broken. Praying for the children in that country – praying when I don’t even know what to pray for.

    sending you love, strength, and faith

  5. Beverly Cleveland says:

    Dear Licia, Sovereign Lord,,You are still in control You sit on the throne of the heavenly realms. Please wrap your arms of peace around your servant Licia. She grows weary with the sin she sees in this world. There is no excuse for starvation and we cant understand why it happens to your children. Man is responsible for malnourishment not you God. Help us to help those who cant help themselves. Give us the strength to do your work. Be with those in all parts of the world who hunger for your word and those who deliver it. In Jesus name we pray Amen

  6. Katie says:

    My heart is breaking…Thank you for your willingness to be the hands of Jesus to the THOUSANDS you come in contact with. Praying for extra strength and extra peace for you!

  7. Angie, RN says:

    Licia, my heart breaks for you! Having to deal with this all the time must be so overwhelming. I pray for God’s strength to get through this. Its not fair that a little boy has to die just because he didn’t have enough food to eat. Its horrible. Praying for God’s blessing on you and the Rescue center. God bless!

  8. Shawn says:

    Licia, my heart is aching more so tonight for you and many people of Haiti. Please know you are not alone. Believe we love the babies and that we love you! You have our support and I lift a prayer for the Zachary Family – Lord, Please let Licia, Lori and Zach and all who work behind them to do Your will Lord for Your people, know that they are loved and cared about by many. Most of all let them be surrounded by Your comfort and have a peace that only You can give. Lord, You are all that is good. The family continues daily to speak of Your Word and You use them in so many ways. Lord, they are tried and weak but Your are their strength. Amen. I love you Lica! Many people of Haiti love you, but most of all – He loves you. The Lord of all.

  9. Kellie says:

    I’m so sorry. May the Lord strengthen you.

  10. Sarah says:

    My heart goes out to you all. We are praying and we love you.

  11. Kristin says:

    I wish I had the words to express myself better right now. I am grateful that the Holy Spirit intercedes for us when we have no words. That is what He just finished doing for me as I spent some minutes in prayer for you before posting this comment.

    As I type with tears in my eyes, please know that I visit this blog daily and I pray each time I visit. Please know that I love these little ones and my heart breaks for their suffering. My heart breaks for you right now as well in your grief and weariness. May God Himself bring you comfort in this moment and always.

    Kristin

  12. I am so sorry for the pain you face daily in your work in Haiti. I pray God will strengthen you and comfort you. We are praying and are so thankful for your work and how you share Jesus’ love daily to those hurting and in need. May God give you new mercies each morning to keep following Him. May you be blessed!!!

  13. Kristy says:

    Licia, I am so sorry. I feel the heaviness in your heart. I lift you up my sister, to the one who can strengthen you and restore you. And He will. I will be praying for you.

  14. Missy Wood says:

    I don’t deal with death so much as I do with other things here in Mexico. But…. tonight (last night) I was feeling just like you. I was crying and wanted more than anything to make husbands stop beating their wives, and mother-in-laws to stop defending their sons and for the violence to just stop. I told my husband that in the short 4 years on the field I have never once wanted to leave but last night was it for me. I wanted to run away from these people and leave them all. If they all wanted to beat each other to a pulp well so be it, but I was tired of trying to counsel them and give them God’s Word as guidance. I am tired of women crying about the abuse and then seeing them suck it up and forget everything the next day. So, please know you are prayed for, we do care and on a very small scale, I do understand how you wanted to close yourself off in your own small world and pretend that all of the awful things that you see aren’t happening. I know someone who does see it all with you and He is very proud of you! Even when you can’t take it anymore!! Please know I will be praying for you and I check your blog almost everyday. I guess last night was just one of those night’s Satan was just trying to use as discouragement. But…both of us are still doing the same thing today! So there! Loving you through prayer, Missy Wood (Keverly’s friend)

  15. Tanya says:

    Praying God lifts you up with renewed strength… when you feel you have no more.

    We love you and pray for your ministry.

    Tanya

  16. dawnz says:

    (((Licia))))
    Even though you are there and we are here, you are never alone. Praying dear girl.
    dawn

  17. Julie says:

    We do care and we will continue to pray and we are so, so sorry. We ask Jesus to draw near and hold you and sustain you.

  18. Deborah says:

    If you save just one, just one…..praying and loving you through.

  19. Lynn says:

    How wonderful that you reached out to comfort and try to save this little boy’s life! What a special privilege you have been given. Give your grief to the only One who can bear it. Focus instead on God’s delight at those He has used your hands to restore, and realize how many more might not have lived, had it not been for your loving care. The same Jesus who understood Mary pouring perfume on His feet, and said she did what she could, greatly appreciates the fragrance of your life spilled out for others in compassionate love.

Leave a Reply

