Going home…

Julaine has been here for several months.  She had a baby on the road walking down to the clinic.  Then she tested positive for syphilis.  The baby died.  She went crazy for several days.  She would jump up and run out the gate or where ever she could.  She would grab a hold of me and not let me go.  Those type of things.  We sent her home as it became to hard to take care of her with all the kids.    She came back a few weeks later and passed out in the clinic.  Her husband (holding the baby) and I discussed her burial and how we would pay for a casket.  She was out of it for several days.  Then she woke up and began talking.  She was fine with no craziness.   After a few weeks I needed the bed for another patient.  She was discharged and sent home.  We moved her out and moved the new patient in.  Juliane walked out the gate and started down the road. She had a seizure that last for several hours.  They carried her back here after only a few minutes.   Her bed was now taken by someone else.  We had to move things and beds around but found a place to set up a bed.  Since then she has been fine.  She went home this past week.  I have not heard from her —so I assume as is well.

julaine

julineapril-29-2009-a-082

Mackenlove–I was 99% sure he was going to die.  He had huge holes in his legs that were very infected.  These were brought on by his fight to live with kwashiorkor.  His mom came each week to visit him.  She was very worried about him.  But he made it!

mackenlove3legsmackenlovehome46

Joana has kwashiorkor.  She went home last week.

joana3joanahome

Luckerline recovered well from her malnoutrition.  She returned home to her family

luckerline1luckerlinehome1

Sineldo has kwashiorkor.  He is doing great and returned home with his family

sineldo1april-29-2009-a-203

Villason was very sick with fever.  He recovered well and returned home this last week.

villasonapril-29-2009-a-029

Psalm 51:10-12 (NIV) 

 10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
       and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

 11 Do not cast me from your presence
       or take your Holy Spirit from me.

 12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation
       and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

2 Responses to Going home…

  1. Angie, RN says:

    I feel so bad for the that mom who lost her baby. I am sure she was overcome by greif. I pray she will know the love of God and He can make all things better.

    Glad to see the before and after pictures of the kids going home. Love those smiles!

  2. Kathy says:

    How sad for the mom. The dad looks really sad too. I wish life could be easier for the people in Haiti. We are so spoiled.

Leave a Reply

