New children from last week…

This is Nadia.  She died last week.  She was 18 months old and weighed 11 pounds. She could not even hold her head up.

nadia7

Lori put an IV in but it was just to late.

Nadia45

This is Iliane.  She is 27 months old and weighs 17 pounds.  She has 10 siblings.  This is her second time with kwashiorkor.  She has had two siblings die with kwashiorkor.  Her father, who did not come, has 3 different women.  Iliane mom took her and left her at the dad’s house with one of the women.  She is the one that brought her to the clinic.  She has a terrible cough and cold.  But she is eating well and doing somewhat better.

Iliane1

This is Cherline.  She was admitted into the RC when she was 1 month old. 

Cheline (1)

Here she is going home about 3 months ago.

cherlinehome1

Within three months she lost 5 pounds and is in the beginning stages of kwashiorkor.  I was shocked that she could get this sick that quick.

cherline2ndtime5

This is Chinica.  She is 17 months old and weighs 12 pounds. 

chininca1

This is Nickenson.  He is 32 months old and weighs 21 pounds.  He has 4 siblings and this is his first time with kwashiorkor.

nickenson6

This is Christerline.  She is 15 days old.  Her mother died last week.  No one knows where the dad is at.  The mother has no family in the village.  Christerline’s gramdma is alive but is bed ridden up in the mountains.  The neighbors did not know what to do. They all collected as much money as they could and buried the mother.  Then they brought her to us to see if we could help.  It was so touching to see they cared so much for the mother and Christerline.  It is a big deal for everyone to come together, those that are are ready stuggling, to find funds to bury the mother.  I am praying that God will bless each of them in a special way.

christerline

Jonah 2:1-9 (The Message)

At the Bottom of the Sea

 1-9 Then Jonah prayed to his God from the belly of the fish. He prayed:    “In trouble, deep trouble, I prayed to God.
   He answered me.
From the belly of the grave I cried, ‘Help!’
   You heard my cry.
You threw me into ocean’s depths,
   into a watery grave,
With ocean waves, ocean breakers
   crashing over me.
I said, ‘I’ve been thrown away,
   thrown out, out of your sight.
I’ll never again lay eyes
   on your Holy Temple.’
Ocean gripped me by the throat.
   The ancient Abyss grabbed me and held tight.
My head was all tangled in seaweed
   at the bottom of the sea where the mountains take root.
I was as far down as a body can go,
   and the gates were slamming shut behind me forever—
Yet you pulled me up from that grave alive,
   O God, my God!
When my life was slipping away,
   I remembered God,
And my prayer got through to you,
   made it all the way to your Holy Temple.
Those who worship hollow gods, god-frauds,
   walk away from their only true love.
But I’m worshiping you, God,
   calling out in thanksgiving!
And I’ll do what I promised I’d do!
   Salvation belongs to God!”

2 Responses to New children from last week…

  1. Kathy says:

    Christerline is adorable. I hope she makes it and that someone shows up for her.

  2. lisa keefer says:

    The love that you have for these people is amazing.what is even more amazing is the love these people have for you! God is good,even though there are bad times (seems like that’s all the time out there) I know you are doing God’s will for you life.Just imagine what would happen if you and your family were not there??? You are a beautiful person with a beautiful soul and I can’t wait to come out in the next few years and put my nursing skills to use with you..I do have a question,what happens the these kids if no one takes them back when they get well??

Leave a Reply

