My mom

It has been 4 years since my mom died.   It does not seem like 4 years have past.  I loved my mom more than other person in the world.  She was a great mom that deeply loved her kids and family.  She was a nurse that loved to be able to take care of and help those in need.  She was not a slacker at all.  Lori and I were just talking the other day about how we used to go out at before the sun had even come up and give number cards out to the patients that were lined up to pass in the clinic.  We used a flashlight.  Mom could hear the patients outside and could not sleep.  She had a great burden for the lost.  She loved to pray for and encourage people.  She loved to write thank you cards and notes to those back in the states.  She loved stickers and would decorate her cards with them.  She used to write me notes in my lunch box everyday.  She was a great encourager to many.  She loved Jesus and served Him with a passion.  Many days I feel like we never had a proper time to mourn her death.   Sometimes I think …what were you thinking God.   You must have  made a mistake.  She gave and made our minister here in Haiti work.  I am so blessed that she was my mom.   I am so blessed that she taught me how to love and forgive.  I am so blessed that I was able to work along side of her for many years.  I am so blessed that I will someday see her again.  I am glad that she is not suffering and that she is running bare foot through fields of flowers with all the babies and kids that have died at the RC.  That my friends is what I believe and the vision that I hold fast too.  Its just a transfer from my arms to Jesus and back to mom.  Be blessed today.  Call those that you love and tell them you love them.  Maybe even call those that you are mad at and tell them that you love them too. God is good and we must trust that we are walking in HIS perfect will.

 

This was her favorite hymn and she used to sing it with both hands waving in the air

I’ll Fly away

 I’ll fly away, oh glory, I’ll fly away
When I die, hallelujah by and by, I’ll fly away

Some bright morning when this life is over, I’ll fly away
To a land on God’s celestial shore, I’ll fly away

When the shadows of this life have gone, I’ll fly away
Like a bird from these prison walls I’ll fly, I’ll fly away
I’ll fly away, oh glory, I’ll fly away
When I die, hallelujah by and by, I’ll fly away

Oh how glad and happy when we meet, I’ll fly away
No more cold iron shackles on my feet, I’ll fly away

I’ll fly away, oh glory, I’ll fly away
When I die, hallelujah by and by, I’ll fly away

Just a few more weary days and then, I’ll fly away
To a land where joy will never end, I’ll fly away

I’ll fly away, oh glory, I’ll fly away
When I die, hallellujah by and by, I’ll fly away

6 Responses to My mom

  1. Tanya says:

    I love when you guys share about your mom… I can tell she was the kind of lady that made every single person she met feel extra special….
    she sure raised some wonderful children!

  2. Kristy says:

    Bless you. Your mom must have been a awesome person to be around, thank you for sharing.

    Love to you all,
    Kristy

  3. I was I had met your mom. She must have been an ange’cuz she sure did good with you and Lori… and Zach! l.

  4. Sarah says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this. It was so beautiful to read about your Mom. I wish that I could have met her- but I have a feeling that I have seen a lot of her in her wonderful loving giving and caring three children. 🙂
    Prayers for you all today. I know this is a tough day. Thanks also for the reminder to call those whom I love- even those that I feel anger with.
    Love,
    Sarah

  5. Kristen says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your mom today!

  6. Sandy Kinnaman says:

    Your mom was a beauftiful lady. You pay great tribute to her not only with your words but with your actions. God bless you. She is greatly missed.

Leave a Reply

