Keverly is leaving :( :(

It is hard to put in writing what Keverly has done for us these past 6 months.  Very hard.  When I decided that I needed a teacher for the boys I was scared.  It is a big thing to have someone come to a foreign country, live with you, teach your kids and deal with the stresses and pressures of the RC and clinic.  It is an even bigger thing when you have never met them.  I put the word out and after a few weeks Keverly’s mom wrote me an email.  ( A special thanks to Christine for forwarding the email to them:) )I did not answer, I was scared.  They wrote me again a least two more times.  I was thinking Licia, you prayed, you asked God why can’t you trust that HE can fill this need for you! So I began writing back and forth with them.  It was amazing what God was doing in the heart of this family.  It was even more amazing what God was doing with Keverly.  Guiding and directing a 17 year old to move to Haiti for 6 months.  To leave her family, and come live with us to teach my boys.  It really made me have goose bumps when I read all that they had to tell me.   It made me cry to think that God loved me and my family that much.   But we had not met yet!  She arrived on Jan 3rd.  She traveled by bus first, slept in the airport, and arrived in Haiti late in the afternoon.  The boys were very excited and scared to meet “the teacher”.  They had lots of questions about her and her family.  They were worried about what I would do now that a teacher was here. 🙂

Jan 06 2009 b 001

She started school right away with the boys, in the middle of a work team  being here.  I am sure it was a bit stressful that first week for her.  But she never acted like it was.  She has taught my boys exactly like I would have taught them (okay I lied she has done a better job!).  Everything that I wanted to offer them but could not she has done.  She is amazing with my kids.  They love her so much.  All three of the boys have improved so much in 6 months.  It makes me sad to think what a bad job I was doing.  I was doing my best, but they needed so much more.  Trey and Henley are both reading!  That is so great!  Carmelo can get on the computer and type assignment’s.  He can read so well now. 

March 25 2009 a 107

March 8 2009 b 199

Five days a week since Jan she has been a faithful teacher.  She starts at 8 am and often finishes after 5pm.  Then she takes a break and then reads with Carmelo every night.  WOW!   It was hard for me to give this responsibility over to someone, but the blessings received have been more than I can imagine!  God is so good!   When she has any free times she helps out in the clinic, she writes thank you notes, she helps with the kids, she encourages Lori and I.  In April we had a  10 month old baby that was abandoned at the clinic.  She took her that same day and has been giving her care 24/7 since then.  She goes and plants trees with us, she walks with us, she goes on 10.5 mile hikes with us, she laughs at our jokes and she treats us with so much respect and love.  She fills up the Medika mamba bowl every night.  She helps me weigh the kids in the RC each week.  She loves on all the kids, even when they bite her 🙂

 

I ask my self over and over again, why I desired this special blessing.  Why I am so blessed!  I thank God so much and can not believe that He loves me that much.  Keverly is leaving 1 week from today.  That makes me want to cry.  I am so sad that she is leaving, but so excited about her next step in life.  So very excited for her and the blessings that God is going to pour out on her. 

April 8 2009 a 014

A 17 year old and a 34 year old have become friends for life.  Linked together by our heavenly savior and three special boys.  Keverly–We love you with a deep sincere love.  We thank you for all that you have done for us, RHFH, and the village here in Cazale.  We pray that God will be with you each day as you begin you next step in life, college!  Please know that you are always welcomed here. (hint, hint:) )

To Keverly’s parents and family.  You listened to God and let you daughter go to a third world country to live with a family she had never met before.  You trusted us to take care of her.  You trusted God to be with her each day.  We can never repay you for  this great sacrifice and wonderful gift.  You both need to be so proud of her for how she has let God move in her heart here.  You raised a wonderful women of God, that loves to reach out and help those in need, that is willing to give of herself each day to be able to bless others.  It might have been hard to let her come but I believe that God has helped her to grow and learn more about herself and HIM.  We pray that God bless your ministry in Mexico.  We will be forever grateful to you. 

Psalm 116:12-19 (The Message)

 12-19 What can I give back to God
      for the blessings he’s poured out on me?

   I’ll lift high the cup of salvation—a toast to God!
      I’ll pray in the name of God;
   I’ll complete what I promised God I’d do,
      and I’ll do it together with his people.
   When they arrive at the gates of death,
      God welcomes those who love him.
   Oh, God, here I am, your servant,
      your faithful servant: set me free for your service!
   I’m ready to offer the thanksgiving sacrifice
      and pray in the name of God.
   I’ll complete what I promised God I’d do,
      and I’ll do it in company with his people,
   In the place of worship, in God‘s house,
      in Jerusalem, God’s city.
   Hallelujah!

9 Responses to Keverly is leaving :( :(

  1. Christine says:

    I cannot believe it has already been six months.

    It was so exciting to watch God match up one family I knew years before, and another I had never met but adored.

    Yea, God!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Truly, truly awesome. God is SO good.

  3. Ericka says:

    Oh my goodness, another cry post!!!
    Beautiful testiment!

  4. Rebecca says:

    God is so GOOD! I’ve seen God evident in Keverly and her family for several years – since we attended language school together in Costa Rica. The little bit that we got to have Kev as a babysitter was a true blessing to us when we were in Mexico. She has a gift with kids and she’s got a true servant’s heart. My girls adored her. We wish her the very best! Praying for a new teacher for your boys.

  5. Audrey Ann says:

    Yes, Keverly is such a blessing from the Lord, and I only knew her for three weeks. 🙂

  6. Lorenda says:

    Licia, I am so amazed and thankful that you took time to reflect and write about how this all transpired. Thank you for that gift. You have made my husband feel so welcome, and I don’t think he has ever been happier than he is now with Keverly, Daphca and you all. The Lord has only blessed us a few times in life with knowing that we know that we know it is Him, and this was the clearest we have ever been directed. What an awesome God!

    We are all changed by these past six months. We will never be the same and we are forever grateful. It’s hard for me to believe that I don’t know the many names and faces we have come to know and love through prayer. We realize that Keverly will leave, and you won’t. For you and Lori and your families next week will come, the challenges will be great and unending. We will not forget to follow the blog, to pray, and to stay aware that you are out there!

    Thank you for trusting the Lord enough to let Keverly come. It will be interesting to see if and when she returns to Haiti. She is so in love with you all and with Haiti. We are excited to know that the next chapter is beginning well with another teacher!

    Please continue to pray for the adoption process. It is falling together well on this end. Just today I got word that Maxine will do the English to French translation. I’m excited about that because she is known and respected by the Haiti govt. Ruth has been AMAZING support.

    Thank you and I hope the day at the beach was just what the doctor ordered!

    With much much love, Lorenda

  7. Elicia says:

    Beautiful!
    I am sure you were a beautiful teacher for her as well!
    A teacher of faith, and trust in our God.
    As always, praying for you friend!

  8. Keisha Hall says:

    Praise the Lord for your ministry!
    Reading all that you have written and looking through all the pictures has been such a wonderful challenge for me to want to love and serve GOd more in my whole life.
    May GOd bless you for your wonderful service to him. Your heart for God shines out of your words and the smiles on your faces.
    I am praying for your family and your ministry as you continue to follow God with your life.
    Not I but Christ,
    Keisha

  9. Elaine says:

    Greetings in His name…Thanks Lorinda for sending me here. I forget about this wonderful tol called the internet.. Favorite picture is Tom hlding your daughter while swimminmg.. Looks like a fun party. I didnt know mules had such big lips. Learning much every day… Blessings to you Keverly for a wonderful service to the very heart of the Lord..Each word said about you is true. To know you is to know His hands and feet and heart. Bless you as you leave and go forward on another God adventure. We will pray for you and family, safe journeys and time in MX. We will keep in touch…………Elaine and family

Leave a Reply

