Walk post #2

I am going to have to divide the pictures into two post.  This is walking up the first mountain.  It was not that far but really steep.

June 20 2009 a 057

See how high it was I am so high I am going up to heaven 🙂

June 20 2009 a 061

A farmers field.  These field are all planted by hand.  They have to be dug up by hand.  They have to be weeded by hand.  They have to be harvest by hand.  It is hard work when you have a large plot of ground.

June 20 2009 a 114

Look at the single tree left on top on that dirt mound.  The soil beside it was washed away.

June 20 2009 a 082

At the beginning of our walk a farmer called out to us and said he needed to talk to us.  We went to meet him and he gave us a big watermelon to eat on our walk. 

June 20 2009 a 077

injured #1  Lori.  It rained the night before and it was muddy in a few places. She was moving over to let a lady on a mule pass and slipped and cut her toe.  Nice dressing job.

June 20 2009 a 102

injured #2 Licia.  I was walking and felt something wet in my sandel.  It was full of blood.  We washed it off and it was a small place where a thorn poked me.  I did not even feel it.  So nurse Lori tied it up with a vine and leaves. 

June 20 2009 a 188

June 20 2009 a 187

June 20 2009 a 071

June 20 2009 a 142

I am scared of cows.  Especially cows with horns.  I have taken care of a few patients over the years that has tangled with those horns.  As we were going down the path there was this cow below.  It let everyone pass and then Lori and I were next as soon as I began to walk to jumped around and started coming towards me (as least thats what it felt like).  I took of running back up to Lori.  Someone came and made it walk off the path.  But when I passed by it quickly it WAS watching me the whole time.  I am serious!

June 20 2009 a 090

June 20 2009 a 144

Part of the group

June 20 2009 a 074

The boys loved riding the mule.

June 20 2009 a 099

more pictures to come….

Psalm 119

 1-8 You’re blessed when you stay on course, walking steadily on the road revealed by God.
   You’re blessed when you follow his directions,
      doing your best to find him.
   That’s right—you don’t go off on your own;
      you walk straight along the road he set.
   You, God, prescribed the right way to live;
      now you expect us to live it.
   Oh, that my steps might be steady,
      keeping to the course you set;
   Then I’d never have any regrets
      in comparing my life with your counsel.
   I thank you for speaking straight from your heart;
      I learn the pattern of your righteous ways.
   I’m going to do what you tell me to do;
      don’t ever walk off and leave me. 

4 Responses to Walk post #2

  1. Angie, RN says:

    Love those hats! I know it helped to keep the sun off your heads!

  2. Sadie says:

    I have a feeling you should take first aid kits with you on these walks, LOL!

  3. t and t says:

    if only you had been burned. you could have rubbed toothpaste on it.

  4. Lisa says:

    The dressing’s are good!!!! Even when you are a nurse you can always find something to help an injury!!! I’ll have to remember those when I come to haiti in december,if we run out of bandages at the clinic…hahaha Nice walk and as always love the pics…God Bless…

Leave a Reply

