From Keverly

It’s hard to believe that Wednesday I will have packed my bags and be flying out, concluding six months here in Haiti.  How fast the time has flown!  So often I’ve looked at the calendar and wished that I could just stop time and make the moments last a little longer.  I know it is impossible to describe these six months in one post.  I’ve fallen in love – with my wonderful students, with this country, these people, the children, the mission – Oh, how hard it will be to say goodbye!

Eight months ago, my mom and I were doing the Bible study Experiencing God.  I felt that God was placing something on my heart that He wanted me to do.  I felt a calling to teach, and I longed to teach in a place where God was at work – where a family truly needed someone so that they could focus on their ministry.  At a time when I was searching and asking God for His will, we received a forward about the need for a home school teacher here.  I am convinced that it was a direct answer to prayer.  That same day we believed that we knew God’s will and contacted Licia.  I could never have dreamed what it would be like here.  The experiences I’ve had, lessons I’ve learned, and friends I’ve made will always be a part of who I am.

When I first got here, it was overwhelming to see all that Real Hope for Haiti does every day.  It’s incredible.  Over and over again I’ve seen love, sacrifice, and perseverance modeled in both Licia and Lori.  They are so willing and quick to fill any need, so gracious with their time and energy.  They give of themselves daily for the people they love – and they have so much love for the people.  I am so inspired by their example. 

licialorime

Carmelo, Henley, and Trey are my first students; there is just something special about that.  They have been so much fun to teach.  They are so enthusiastic, cooperative, and smart.  In these six months, not one of them has ever complained about an assignment – I consider that a miracle.  I have LOVED getting to work with each of them, getting to know them, watching them learn and grow this semester.  It has been such a privilege for me to get to be a part of their lives.  I will miss them more than they know.

           boysandme

I could never have anticipated all the many ways God would bless my time here.  It has been unbelievably exciting, and at times heartbreaking to live above the rescue and clinic.  So many lives are saved, hungry mouths fed, children given educations, people given jobs, I can’t begin to name it all.  Often when I go to sleep at night I know that there are already people in need lined up outside the gate waiting to get help in the clinic in the morning.  Just downstairs there are always so many babies and children being nursed to health and cared for.  To watch a lonely, starving child be given food and love until he recovers and learns how to smile again is an experience I can’t compare with anything else. 

 Another unexpected, enormous blessing was placed in my arms three months ago.  Daphca was a seven month old baby girl abandoned in the clinic.  When she came she was brought upstairs and I have been taking care of her since.  In no time, I was completely in love – as I am today.  My parents have decided to adopt her.  How do you express the kind of joy of being told that the beautiful child you’ve been caring for is your sister?  I’m in awe of the perfect timing and circumstances God planned to bring us together for life. 

Daphcakev

I am so thankful to Licia and Lori for being so open and accepting to me, showing and teaching me so much.  You have given me so many fun memories to take with me.  Thank you, Enoch and Licia, for being willing to open your home and school to me.  I can not tell you how much the time I have spent teaching your wonderful boys has meant to me.  Thank you Mr. Zack for giving me a place to live, and for the way you work to keep this going.  I will miss you all so much and hope to be back someday.  Real Hope for Haiti is so real and offers so much hope.  I will always think of you and keep you in my prayers.  Again – Thank you!

16 Responses to From Keverly

  1. This young woman is mature WAY beyond her years. What a blessing!

  2. Amy says:

    Beautifully written…so glad your parents are adopting that sweet little girl!

    ~Amy in WI

  3. Stephanie says:

    Keverly, May God richly bless your life as you have blessed those around these past six months. He certainly has a very special plan for you!

  4. Tanya says:

    Beautiful Keverly! I had been hoping that somehow that adorable little girl would continue to be in your life!

    I will be praying that her file just flies through the adoption process and she can be joined with your family quickly!

  5. Rebecca says:

    Keverly, I can’t tell you how exciting it has been to watch God at work in you over the past 6 months just by reading this blog. It’s incredible to see how God has been so faithful and brought so much good out of this experience. A new sister!! Wow! Congratulations. We’ll be in prayer for your family as you jump through all the hoops to adopt that precious little girl. I’m so glad she gets to be a part of your family! You were a blessing to us during our short time in Mexico and Licia has been very clear that you have been a tremendous blessing there. It’s obvious God is at work in and through you! There’s no better thing 🙂 Give our love to your parents and please keep in touch! Love, Rebecca rlcannon1 at gmail.com

  6. Christine says:

    Love you, Keverly, and your whole (now GROWING!) family! Give ’em heck in Virginia. Give your dad a big hug from the Moers.

  7. debraparker says:

    Praying for your family, what an awesome journey you are about to begin! And what an awesome journey you just completed! God is so good, and life is never boring to follow him.

  8. Sadie says:

    I just got goosebumps when I read that your parents will be adopting Daphca ~ so awesome!

  9. Elicia says:

    What a beautiful post
    And what a beautiful testiment to how God can orchestrate a situation and make so many blessing out of it.
    Praying for a quick adoption.
    What is impossible for man is not impossible for God!

  10. Bekki says:

    I so enjoyed reading your post and seeing how God works His miracles. I am so glad to have spent time with you in March – even though it was short! Daphca is a blessed little baby – I’ve been thinking of her and wondering how you would be able to leave her – VERY GOOD that your family can adopt her. Blessings blessings blessings as you continue your education and service to God. MUCH LOVE!

  11. Tara says:

    keverly-
    my heart breaks for you thinking about the hard goodbyes ahead … Daphca will be well cared for and loved until she gets into your Mom and Dad’s arms … I promise to send you pics at Liberty to be sure you get your Daphca fix when needed. Thanks for everything you did to encourage the Betors and Lori too!

    With love and prayers (see you tomorrow I hope)

    tara

  12. Lorenda says:

    Wow, I’m so thankful for all the people who commented above. Licia’s blog is such an effective way of keeping people linked. Keverly, you expressed yourself so well in the article. We’re so proud of you, and so thankful that you are so in tune with the Lord’s will. Adelante hija!

  13. D says:

    YAY!!! I didn’t think you’d be able to leave Daphca, and so glad it became possible to keep her with you!

  14. dawnz says:

    What an amazing job you’ve done Keverly! And congratulations on your new little sister!!! 🙂

  15. Doris Brown says:

    We have thoroughly enjoyed the blogs. It’s surely a whole different part of God’s world, and so great to experience a small part of it through you. We especially enjoyed reading your “From Keverly,” and thought you expressed your feelings beautifully.

  16. jen says:

    how incredibly amazing.

Leave a Reply

