Home school parents I need your help!

For all of you that home school your children, or know of those that do, I need some help.  I have been using The Jubilee Academy for the boys the last 5 years and really like it.  But they are not offering a ministy grant this year.  Which will increase our cost by 80% Yikes!  Jubilee is all on-line and the lesson are planned out.  This is what we are used to but are opened to anything at this point.  Any one have suggestions?  Let me know at licia@realhopeforhaiti.org   The boys will be in K, 2nd and 7th grade.

7 Responses to Home school parents I need your help!

  1. Sharel says:

    Let me just say that if I have to go back to home schooling someone is big trouble.

  2. Kristy says:

    Okay I don’t know if this will help. You can look at SOS (switched on Schoolhouse) DVD”S Alpha and Omega publishing. I used to homeschool. And will be again when Hope and Faith come home. i used this for a while and then switched to Abeka but is so expensive. SO at least look at this. It is not cheap but less expensive than Jubilee.

  3. Chewie says:

    I homeschool (and have a few Haitian kids, btw). I do not utilize the SOS services, but have friends who use it and love it. I also have heard Abeka’s online academy is wonderful. The last option I’d give you is some private Christian schools will allow you to attend their schools online (Liberty Christian close to Dallas TX is one of them I know is excellent). All of these options are expensive, but I would lay out the circumstances and see what services you can get. I know someone at the Liberty school if you want me to request they review your issues.

    Praying for you to find peace about the homeschool journey with your boys,

    Chewie

  4. Bekki says:

    Licia – I do Abeka and I have some of the 2nd grade cirriculum I can send if you want it. I generally spend about $600 per year for my kids’ Abeka cirriculum. I also like some others for handwriting and reading comp.
    Will e-mail you directly.

  5. Keverly says:

    Oh no!! I wonder why not? Sorry! I’ll see if I can get any advice from homeschool moms here at these mission conferences…

  6. Graham says:

    Did a little internet search, found an online homeschool that might be worth looking into (they have online program) http://www.oakmeadow.com/curriculum/online.htm

  7. Sadie says:

    I emailed a couple of places to see if they could give you any help, but I don’t know of any off the top of my head that might run cheaper than what you are looking at having to pay… We just enrolled my 14y/o son in an online virtual school program, but it’s considered a public charter school so it is all paid for by the state… not really an option you can use!

Leave a Reply

