A lesson from mom

I guess I had to be in middle school at the time.  My parents had just recently had a transformation.  God changed them into totally new people.  A life of drugs and partying into a life of full service to Him.  They ran a food pantry in our local church.  Us kids were able to go with mom many times to deliver food.  At that time I had never really been around someone that I considered poor.  So one day we were going to deliver food to a family.  It was winter time and there was snow on the ground. It was cold out.  We went to the house and there was a single mom with 6 kids.  They invited us into their home.  They were thankful for what little food we had brought to them.  As I was looking around several of the kids just had on a T-shirt and underware.  No pants and it was cold.  I wondered why the mom did not put clothes on them.  Did she not care they were cold?   But everyone seemed so happy.  All we were to do was to go and deliver the food to this family.  But mom wanted to do more.  This is what she said to the mother.  I see you  have alot of work here.  So many kids to love on and look after.  I just have three and it is hard for me at times.  The mom said that yes it was difficult at times to get up with everything but the kids were her life and she loved them so much.  My mom said, God just recently blessed us with a washing machine.  Would it be okay if I returned tomorrow and pick up some clothes to wash for you.  The mother said she that would be great.  She did not have a car and could not make it to the laundry mat to wash all the clothing for the kids.  The were trying to keep as many clothes as possible clean for school.    Mom sang all the way home and was happy.  She was thanking Jesus for saving her and giving her a NEW life.  The next day she returned to the families house.  She brought 10 huge trash bags of clothes home.  It took us all several days to wash, dry and fold all the clothes.  She went out and bought laundry baskets to organize the clothes in.  She took the clothes back to the family.  They visited and talked for awhile.  Mom invited them to church.  This began another ministry for our family.  We had a suburban.  Mom and dad would drop us off at church early and then began picking up people to bring to church.  This grew into a church bus ministry.  We still know this original family and keep in contact with them.  It is easy at times to just do what your are supposed to do, right?  Give in the special offering, give to missions, tell people hello.  But it is harder to step out and do sometime extra. 

 

 Nov 21 07 a 014

I am thinking of this today and my mom.  We have so many visitors that come through our place.  There are some that complain and tell us everything that “they” think we do wrong.  They are some that encourage us.  They are some that do not even leave the house.  There are some that hold the kids and love on them.  There are some that are scared to do anything.  There are some that cry, they are some that get mad.  There are some that get in there and help out.  There are some that say things that are not nice.  There are some that say nice things.  So many different thing.  It is rare that someone comes and see a need and just fills it.  That is sad to me.  I have heard, “Why are there so many flies here”  My mom taught me to find a solution for the flies and offer it to them instead of complaining about a problem that they already know is there.  I have heard, “Why don’t you paint the walls in here?  Brighten things up a bit?”  My mom taught me to go buy the paint and paint the walls.  I have heard, That kid has a dirty diaper? ”  My mom taught me to go get a clean diaper and change them.  I have heard “It is so sad that you do not have any toys for the kids”  My mom taught me to go and buy toys and give them to the kids.   Sometimes we need to change our thinking a bit.  The lady above knew that she did not have many clean clothes for her kids.  She really did not need someone to point that out to her.  She needed help!  Hello! 6 kids, winter, no car, she just needed someone to give her a hand and help out.  Sometimes life is like that.  You find yourself in a place that you are blessed in some way.  Maybe it is a car, maybe it is $5 extra you have, maybe it is a load of toys that you really do not need, maybe it is a few hours of free time.  I encourage all of you to step out and just do something.  Anything to help someone in need, to thank our heavenly father that HE is there for us each day.  

Oct 19 07 a 044

Oct 27 07 a 068

1 John 2:15-17 (The Message) 

 15-17Don’t love the world’s ways. Don’t love the world’s goods. Love of the world squeezes out love for the Father. Practically everything that goes on in the world—wanting your own way, wanting everything for yourself, wanting to appear important—has nothing to do with the Father. It just isolates you from him. The world and all its wanting, wanting, wanting is on the way out—but whoever does what God wants is set for eternity.

8 Responses to A lesson from mom

  1. Kayla says:

    Good post. I think it is human nature (our own selfishness and the Devil’s ability to distract us) that often means we comment or complain without thinking of solutions. It’s so important to be mindful of that no matter what we’re doing whether in Haiti or the US.

  2. Sarah says:

    The first time that I went to Haiti I spent a lot of time asking “why” and “why not” and “how about” instead of just jumping in where I should and doing what I could. It wasn’t until I came home and had time to reflect and pray- then return to Haiti that I truly “got it”.
    I think I thought I had some wise solutions to “issues” I saw. Surely the other people already had those solutions and it didn’t work when they tried so why would my suggested it be any different?
    It wasn’t different and it likely was hurtful to those people who eventually just looked at my “being nice and helpful with my suggestions” and started rolling their eyes like- “she just doesn’t get it does she?”
    Here are people giving so much of everything they have and everything that they are and each moment of their time to do something that I just came to “taste” for a week and I am telling them what to do? It wastes time to do that. And it causes hard feelings.
    Thanks for speaking up about this issue. It is certainly something applicable to life everywhere and what to do instead of how to say things. 🙂
    Love,
    S

  3. Stephanie says:

    This is a very wise post, and your mom – like you and your sister – a very special lady!

  4. Caroline says:

    You rock Licia. Like a lot. I wish so badly I could have met your mom. And it is obvious you found a solution for the flies, loved the pictures 🙂

  5. Annette says:

    Our pastor challenged us with very similar thoughts Sunday and they’ve been on my mind all week. I know you’re super busy but if you ever have time to listen/watch a sermon online, I think you would enjoy his message. I tried to copy the link but couldn’t get it to work. But you could go to http://www.fmcfw.org/teachings.php It’s the one from Aug. 30, Stories of the Kingdom: the parable of the sheep and goats. I had one of those moments where I KNEW in the deepest part of my heart that if I allow God to consume me with this message, it would change my life and my family’s.

  6. Lorenda says:

    It’s good to hear some of the stories about your mom. Keverly has tried to tell me how special she was, and I can understand more as I read. You are leaving a legacy as she did. Praise God for that. Thanks for inspiring me and others through your nudge toward filling the gaps better and better each day.

  7. Emily says:

    What a wonderful exhortation. Thanks.

  8. John says:

    What a great testimony of service for the Lord. I wish that all of us would be so drawn to humble service in places of need in our neighborhood, our city, our state and country – then, world wide! (Acts 1:8)

Leave a Reply

