Emmanuel

Emmanuel June 2007  3 pounds 11 ounces

Emmanuel1

November 2008 going home first time 20.5 pounds

emmanuel666

March 2009 back in RC for the second time with kwashiorkor.  His lowest weight 17 pounds

emanuel2ndtime

Going home July 2009 23 pounds

emmanuel66

Back in the RC for the third time at 19 pounds Oct 2009

Oct 28 2009 c 008

This makes three times this little guy has been here.  His mother is dead.  I have been in contact with his uncle/dad ( sometimes he tells me he is the uncle and sometimes he is the dad)  Meaning he brings him sick and then I do not hear from him for months.  I talk and talk and have the nannies talk to the family.  We talk about what food are good to eat, what causes kwashiorkor, loving him etc.  When he came this time he  saw us and began crying and reaching for us.  I put him down to walk and he started pumping his little arms up and down and yelling.  He ran to the table where the kids were eating and took one of their bowls of food.  He started eating as fast as he could to get as much food in.  He was starving and was so excited to see food.  The lady that brought him did not really know him that well.  She said the family said to tell me that he did not want to eat any food that is why he was so skinny.  I looked at her and asked he to please go back to them and tell them what she had just witnessed. 

These are the hard times and difficult times to make decisions about what is best to do.  They are not taking care of him.  They do not come to visit him.  They leave him with neighbors and other family for days at a time.  They will not put him up for adoption.  I cannot keep him long-term that is just not what we are set up for. Is helping him for months at a time here and there really helping him.  Why get him better to return to a home life where no one seems to want him or love him.  Should I get really mean with the uncle/dad and tell him that he is going to die if he does not take care of him?  What if I make him mad and then he does not return later when he gets sick again.  How many times can his body take this?  Or maybe I should just tell him I have reached my limit and need to pull back some?  Sorry no room today for him, my beds are all full?  These thought are all running through my head today.   What would you do?

 

18 Responses to Emmanuel

  1. kscott08 says:

    I think you are in an impossibly difficult situation. I wish I had great advice to offer. I’ll pray for you and for the children and for wisdom. What a blessing you are to these children….

  2. julie says:

    I think I would cry and hold that boy tight. . .

    When God decides to weave you into the fabric of someone’s life – especially more than once – I think all you can do is to completely and humbly follow His lead. As frustrating as it seems and as fruitless your labors may appear, God is at work. I am reminded of Simon when Jesus told him to put out to sea and let down his nets. Simon replied “Master, we worked hard all night and caught nothing, but I will do as You say and let down the nets.” Peter saw his work to have been fruitless and yet in obedience to Jesus he obeyed and Jesus brought about the fruits of his labor in abundance. He has blessed the work of your hands twice already with this fella. . . keep following Him. I wouldn’t allow the boy to suffer because of the sin of the adults in His life – God will judge and there will be the wrath of His anger revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and and wickedness of man. Keep your heart broken by the things that break the heart of God and He will use you to win many into the Kingdom. I will pray for your encouragement. Keep your chin up, it helps your eyes to rest on Him who is enthroned above the circle of the earth.

  3. Elizabeth costantino says:

    I would take him and see if I could find someone like the Mangines in Haiti to take him long term for care and education. In the future his family might decide to put him up for adoption but right now he just needs care and love and education. It would be impossible for me to turn my back on this little one.

  4. haitirescuecenter says:

    Thank you Julie! Amen! Many days it is only by the super natural strength that God gives us that we can get up each morning. A that is 100% the truth.

    Elizabeth, thanks for the suggestion of long term care. I had thought about that. But, long term care would be great if that is what the family wanted. But it is not. He will be expected to do things for what ever family member decides to take him. Once a child can walk and is well they will have to begin to carry water and do other things to help the family.

    I want you see to that there are no easy options for his life. It will be difficult and he will have a hard life. His mother is dead and his father is not around. He has no one to advocate for him to speak for him and love him.

    Haiti has huge problems. Most will not be solved during my life time. There are 1000’s upon 1000’s of kids just like Emmanuel. No easy solutions.

  5. Graham says:

    First, you are going to take him. You know if you send food home it probably will not get to him. Second, the next task is for the medika mamba people to create a ‘ready to eat food’ that kids love but adults hate. There has to be something out there like that….

  6. Sharon says:

    Licia,

    Oh my! You can’t turn him away…I will pray like crazy for the “dad” and family to come to their senses as you take care of him and nurse him back to health. I think you should give the family a good talking to, anyway that is my opinion and I can hear your dad’s comment on opinions. I love you all and like I said I will be praying!

    Sharon

  7. Dolores says:

    That is so unbelievably sad. Makes my heart break. You are doing a wonderful service to the people of Haiti! I have one question though. Do you know why so many haitian children have ambilical hernias?

  8. Tanya says:

    I think the only right answer is to love and nourish that boy while you can…

    I can’t even begin to imagine how your heart breaks every day.

    God bless you all!

  9. steph says:

    Stories like this make me think that once i retire, i know what i want to do. I want to move to haiti for at least most or part of the year, and live near a rescue center such as yours, and just be a Tati to the kids. Kids that have nowhere to go like Emmanuel, or other kids that have nowhere to live. Just live there and love them. Even if they come and go…..just to be a safe place where they will get love and played with and taught. The children there that will surely die but need someone to hold them while they are sick, I will do it. That will be my job.

    Probably totally unrealistic, but i want to do it anyway.

    steph

  10. cindi says:

    Just want you to know that I am praying desperately for precious Emmanuel. And for wisdom and encouragement for you. Thank you for the sad postings. They are so difficult to read (but not as difficult as writing, I am sure) but they help us to understand the issues that you face hourly. Oh, Jesus, be in the midst of this situation!

  11. CJ says:

    Only God knows the answer ~ I’m lifting you up to Him right now ~ asking for His divine wisdom, love, and grace to shower down upon you.

  12. Sarah says:

    That is so hard.
    Wow. I am trying to think about what I would do.
    I think first I would pray for sure- and see if I had a clearer answer to how to deal with things. Ultimately I would want them to agree to the help long term. I would ask for a program like LAC to see if they would take him in. Not to be adopted but to live long term so that he can grow, thrive and ultimately just not be at such risk for death.
    How frustrating. I will pray for the situation.
    love
    s

  13. Claire Abel says:

    God is bringing him into your life to save his life. Maybe he will become a pastor some day. Just do all the love and caring you can when you can and pray all the time for him.
    We can ask God for a miracle to open up the family’s hearts and eyes to what pain and hurt they are putting Emmanual through.
    God knows what He is doing. TRUST and LOVE.

  14. Rob says:

    God has put you where you are for a purpose and I know you wouldn’t turn him away. Its not his fault he is starving. I know you love these kids with all your heart. God will bless you above all that you could imagine because you are doing it in his name. May God bless you for all the work you are doing in His name. That Emmanuel is too cute. I would take him if I could!!!

  15. Heather says:

    I have no idea what I would do. You know Haiti better than anyone probably, and it seems you know the Lord pretty darn well too. I am sure he will weave your knowledge of Haiti and your knowledge of Him into something…

    Praying for you as serve and serve and serve and get poured out again and again and again…

  16. Roberta says:

    Wow. That is so hard. It just made me think again what a blessing your family is to these children. That is such a tough situation and obviously there is no easy answer. 😦 Thank you for loving these kids no matter what and being there for them when they need you!

  17. […] my post about Emmanuel?  Well look at him now!  he is doing great on the medika mamba. We are so excited that he is […]

  18. Kayla says:

    I don’t know the answer to the problem either. And I’m not saying it should be adoption, but would having an adoptive family committed to him make a difference in the minds of the birth family? Would they be more willing to place him for adoption if they knew an adoptive family was already willing to care for him? I’m guessing probably not but I was just curious.

Leave a Reply

