Two of the nurses from the clinic are at a seminar this week.  So that means, Licia, No-Im-not-a nurse is helping out in the clinic.  I saw over 100 patients today.  My brain is fried.  I will be working again tomorrow.  So I will get to back to emails and blogging Friday.  Since Tuesday we have admitted 7 children in the RC.  Four of them with severe Kwashiorkor.  They are very sick.  Two of the mothers traveled from very far away to get here.  I have a post in my head to write about them.  But now all I can hear is my head is mwen genyen ( I have) fyev (fever), grip (cold),  asid (acid),  vant femal (stomachache), tet femal (headache) pa ka manje (can’t eat) ma ka domi (can’t sleep) etc.  My favorite from today pye-m pa travay literally translates my feet aren’t working.  But what are they really trying to tell me.  That they have not seem their period this month. 

Be thankful today for all you have access to.  Be thankful that you can go to a local drugstore and buy some pain meds.  Be thankful that you do not have to walk hours up and down mountain  to get those meds.  Be thankful that you have food to feed yourself and your kids.  Be thankful that you have  clean water to drink and you do not get diar.  Be thankful that you have more than one nice outfit to wear this year.   Think about these simple things and thank God.  More later….

DEC 21 08 b 110

 

6 Responses to

  1. watchingthewaters says:

    I wrote about this today, Sister. And about sweet Angeline Dieudonne.. remember her? I know you do.. http://watchingthewaters.wordpress.com/2009/11/11/im-so-grateful-ill-give-500/

    Praying for you..

    Corey

  2. Tanya says:

    I am thankful! Every day.

    I love coming to your blog- thank you for sharing of your life there.

    You may not be a “nurse” but you are one amazing woman! (you – and your “i am a nurse” sister Lori 🙂

  3. Bonnie says:

    Thinking of you, praying for you, thanking God for all we are given.
    Every day.

  4. Lorenda says:

    Thank you for leading us in gratitude today. Yes, we are thankful for all we have and we are thankful for you.

  5. Kimberlee says:

    God sees the sparrow that falls to the ground, and God sees you and every child. At the mercy seat of Christ, your works will stand pure before the Lord.

  6. Bekki says:

    Gratitude isn’t enough – it is so small a thing for so great a gift! Nevertheless, I add my thankfullness and Praise – and add thankfulness for the Zachary family that untiringly work for our beloved sisters and brothers.

Leave a Reply

