New children in the RC

Nov 13 2009 a 037

Two children died this past week.  I did not have time to get this post up before they died.  The first was Juslyn.  She was 1 month and had a terrible skin infection on her legs and feet.  She had a high fever and stopped drinking her formula.  We put a feeding tube in for her but she died on Friday morning around 7:30am.

juslyn2

The second was Dieudson.  He was 11 months old and weighed 15 pounds.  His mother died and dad was trying to take care of him.  He died Friday morning at 2:00am.

dieudson13

This is Dickenson.  He is 20 months old and weighs 14 pounds 6 ounces.  His dad died in the flood last year.  The mother has many kids to feed and he has been falling behind and not gaining weight after she stopped breast-feeding him.dickenson1

This is Junior.  He is 18 months old and weighs 12 pounds 8 ounces.  He is unable to walk yet and is very weak.

junior3

This is Landa.  She was burned a few weeks back when she fell in a pot of boiling water.  She has been coming each day for dressing changes.  She was refusing to eat anything for her mother.  She began to get signs of kwashiorkor.  She kept getting worse each day.  We were willing to give her mother food to feed her and she said you can give me the food but she will not eat.  We admitted her into the RC and began to give her the medika mamba.  She is doing wonderful on it and has her appetite back.!  Yeah!landa5

This is Wilbert.  He weighs 19 pounds and is 4 years old.  He could not walk the first week her was here. But is getting stronger and doing better.wilbert2

This is Silfise.  She is 4 years old and weighs 18 pounds.  She has Down Syndrome.  Her father has 8 children and all of them but Silfise are in school.  This is something for the father to be so proud of.   This is her first time with kwashiorkor.  The only reason he has not put her in school is due to her malnutrition.

silfise7

This is Mimose.  She was playing on a rock wall when a rock fell and smashed her foot.  Her foot is very infected and yucky.  She is unable to walk on it.  She has another sister in the RC that is malnourished.  She will stay and get daily dressing changes.Nov 10 2009 a 036

Nov 10 2009 a 033

This is Kendia.  She is 8 years old and weighs 38 pounds.  She is suffering from kwashiorkor.  She has 3 other siblings at home.  She was crying a few night ago in the RC after dinner.  I thought she was missing her family.  I went over to sit with her for a while.  I told her how much her mom and dad loved her and they brought her to the RC to get help.  I thought that would make her feel better.  I said is that what is wrong.  She looked at me and said no white lady I am still hungry!  So I told her any time she is not full and  still hungry to let me know and I will hook her up.  We have been having extra cookies, milk and meat.  She is a sweet girl.Kendia4

This is Jn Hiler.  He is 11 months old and weighs 12 pounds.  His mother took off to the Dominican and left him with his father.  His father has several other kids to take care of.   He cannot go to work and take care of Jn Hiler at the same time.  He can find someone to watch him when he is walking and a little bigger.

Nov 11 2009 a 023

This is Titincil.  He is 4 months old and weighs 6 pounds.  His mother is very ill and has been trying to breastfeed him.  She cannot produce enough milk for him.

Tinilcil5

This is Christerline.  This makes three times she has been in the RC.  She is suffering from kwashiorkor again. 

Chriseline3rdtime1

This is Clermita.  She is 2.5 years old and weighs 14 pounds.  She is suffering from kwashiorkor.  She is severely malnourished.  This is the second time with kwashiorkor.  She is very weak and sick.  She is now unable to sit up.  She is eating which we are grateful for.

Clermita2

This is a map of Haiti. Do you see where we are at?  Do you see the island in the middle there.  It is called La Gonave.  The two children below are from that island.  They had to travel across by boat.  They had to take one day to get here.  They had to stand in line and get a number.  They waited most of the day with the other 250 patients that passed that day in the clinic.  The could not make it back to their homes that day.  So three days that they needed to get help for their children.  I asked both of them why?  Why did they travel that far away from their homes?  Why did they come?  How did they hear about us?   The first mother said that people by her house talk about the hospital in Cazale.  They say it has good medicine and they help people.  She said she went to two other clinics by her house.  They both gave her prescriptions for vitamins and sent them home.  The second mother said about the same thing but added that she heard we help kids with kwashiorkor.  I ask why again.  She said I love my child and will go to where I think I might find help for him.

Airport to Cazale 3

This is Schneider.  He is 2 years old and weighs 21 pounds.  He will lose several pounds over the next few weeks from his kwashiorkor.Schneider

This is Wilguens.  He is 3 years old and weighs 21 pounds.  He is suffering from kwashiorkor.  This is the second time for him to have kwashiorkor. 

Wilguens3

Both of these boys are sick and malnourished.  Both of these mothers love their kids.  The traveled a long way to see if they could find help for them.  No one ever told them what food they needed to feed their boys.   No one took the time with them to help them and just talk to them.  I am so very thankful that the RC is able to provide help for these kids.  I am thankful that even though we have 70 children in the RC today we will always make room for another.  We will always try to save those that we can.  I am sad that they could not find a place closer to their homes.

More tomorrow…..

Will you go and read my best sister in the world’s blog and consider this child’s story. 

Man I love this country!  When are you coming to experience it!  What are you waiting for?

Hebrews 12:12-13 (The Message)

 12-13So don’t sit around on your hands! No more dragging your feet! Clear the path for long-distance runners so no one will trip and fall, so no one will step in a hole and sprain an ankle. Help each other out. And run for it!

 

4 Responses to New children in the RC

  1. Bekki says:

    I HATE waiting! I love you and miss you and pray for you – I remember when I was there Monsieur Zach said he dreams of RCs all over Haiti – I remember the leap my heart took – and the reminder that I need to “wait upon the Lord”. Blessed are you, Licia Betor!

  2. Bekki says:

    Kiss Silfese for me – she makes me think of my first MV baby, Martine. I am so thankful that her dad is able to care for her and loves her despite her DS. He must be an extraordinary man to be able to put all his kids in school!

  3. Stephanie Mueller says:

    When can I come help you for a week or so??? I would love to visit with Anna again. I have felt that I want to come help you from the first post I ever read. I will sleep anywhere, eat anything you give me, do anything you need. Being a NICU nurse for 15 yrs Im sure there are somethings I can do to help you. I only travel with NVM every 6 months and have been wanting to start going 3 times a year but just havent had the right opportunity yet. Do you have any weeks in particular you need help? I am not scheduled to come back until April. This is a serious offer of service I know I would be blessed to serve you and God. Please let me know how I can help you.
    Thanks,
    Stephanie

  4. Emily says:

    Have the costs for Manuette been covered yet?

Leave a Reply

