Infant formula

We all slept outside last night again.  We are still feeling tremors this AM.  Enoch got lots of pictures yesterday in town that I will be trying to get up sometime today. 

Lori is going into town to see if she can help anywhere.

Enoch is looking for people who are missing in Bon-Repos.  He said if anyone knows of places that needs a translator or help he is willing to go anywhere to help his people.

I am getting worried about our supply of infant formula.  We are getting low.  Ideas?  What else can I use with the babies if I totally run out.  We have heard that all stores are still closed so the hope of being able to buy it is slim.  We might be able to get canned evaporated milk here close.  Will check on that. 

I am sending kids home that can go.  I figure if I can get the numbers down some, maybe to 50, it will be a little easier to manage here. 

Pray everyone.

29 Responses to Infant formula

  1. Amy G says:

    Praying for you all today. Will specifically pray for a solution to the baby formula, safety & for you to feel God’s presence with you today. God bless.

  2. Jen says:

    We are praying. God bless you for the work you are doing.

  3. julie says:

    oh licia. . .

    I have no ideas on formula substitutes. . . .I will pray and pray for these dear children and for you to have keen discernment and wise judgment. I will also pray that God will keep those supplies replenished – he’s not just in the business of replenishing oil and wheat!

    we have yet no word on our Sousi and Sève if you could pray that we could hear something soon, we would be honored.

  4. Tish says:

    I am so sorry to hear that! I don’t know of anything to help. God will not leave you empty handed… it will came! Sometimes as you know it is in the midnight hour before he answers prayers but it will come.

    Is there a way I can ship you a bunch? I know it won’t get to you in time for this crisis but for future supply?

    Your family is doing such an amazing job!!! I have posted you blog link on my FB page hopefully some donations will come!

  5. Emily says:

    The Alaska Social Services website has an emergency infant formula using whole evaporated milk – here’s the link to the pdf. There are some pros & cons…

    http://www.hss.state.ak.us/dpa/programs/nutri/downloads/EducationMaterials/HighRiskCaseStudies/QA32.pdf

    Praying!
    Jude 2,
    Emily

  6. Laura says:

    Licia,
    If someone is qualified in trauma care and has the means to come- do you want them? Would that be helpful if they can get there?

  7. Christine says:

    First thoughts are to gather any currently nursing women to hand express some for you. Won’t be much, but what those kids DO get will be power-packed. If some will get into a routine of expressing and still nursing, their supplies will increase (of course – if there is enough food/water to sustain these women).

    And I will be researching!

  8. jeanne says:

    how is enoch’s family?? praying… love to you all!

  9. Lisa Hughes says:

    My heart aches for you. I am praying for Haiti

  10. teresa says:

    http://www.westonaprice.org/Recipes-for-Homemade-Baby-Formula.html

    Licia, I researched a little and don’t know about access to these items either, but here are some alternatives:
    cow’s milk
    goat’s milk- maybe even in a canned form
    fig juice
    chicken broth
    a boiled liver broth
    coconut oil/juice
    a mixture of any of the above
    I’m praying…..please let me know by email or post anything I can research EVER for you…that is something I CAN do and you will not have to take the time.

  11. Noel says:

    My heart is heavy with each new report from Haiti. Even heavier as I realize it’s a million times worse for each person living there.I pray God’s blessings and provision for you in the place and time he’s called you to.

    I’m old enough that my mother sometimes used a canned milk mixture to feed her babies. And we all survived healthy, so yes it can be done.

    Here’s the recipe from http://www.ehow.com/how_2111172_prepare-emergency-baby-formula.html . Step 1 calls for powdered milk in a concentrated mixture, so undiluted canned evaporated milk should substitute well. If the Canned milk is NOT evaporated, you’d need to use correspondingly less water in step 2.

    Step
    1
    Mix together 1 1/3 cups water with 1 cup powdered milk. Add 2 tablespoons oil. Mix well.

    Step
    2
    Mix 2 tablespoons corn syrup with 18 ounces of boiling water. Stir until corn syrup is completely incorporated into the water.

    Step
    3
    Add the two mixtures together in a quart jar and refrigerate until cool.

    Step
    4
    Shake well before using.

    Step
    5
    Pour into baby’s bottle and use as you would normal baby formula.

  12. Angie says:

    I am praying n have asked everyone I know to pray as well. I have dear friends-a couple who arrived Christmas day to care for his mother-down there as well. No idea as to their status.

    I will not fear, Tho the earth tremble n the mountains be removed into the midst of the sea…For the Lord God almighty reigns.

  13. Colleen says:

    Hello-
    Does Christian Aid Ministries have a supply for emergency needs? Is there some way to contact them; I know that they operate in Haiti, but I don’t know where.
    We will continue to pray for you, your family and the people you are caring for.

  14. Trudy says:

    Licia,
    I askd my Mom what they used years ago before formula. She said either cows milk or goats milk diluted with water with some corn syrup added. The corn syrup helps keep the baby from getting constipated.
    Praying for Haiti.

  15. Cindie says:

    praying for you…wish that we could be there in person to hep you all be the hands and feet of Jesus

  16. Bekki says:

    Goat milk or cow milk with a few drops of molasses if you have it. Reconstituting the evaporated milk is also a great idea. Also, if you have a blender(?) you can whiz up bananas to add to the ‘milk’. It will keep their bellies full in the short term, and if you have sunflower oil, add a drop of that. Banana and sunflower are almost perfect foods.

  17. Emily says:

    Goat milk would probably be better than cow milk…

    You, your family, village, and whole country are in our prayers continuously. May the Lord’s hand be revealed in the midst of what seems a very crooked path. Praying…

  18. shellie rader says:

    fresh goats milk. add carrot and/or celery juice for extra nutrients. my son used it for 6 months as an infant

  19. Sarah says:

    GOATS MILK!

  20. Gina says:

    We used raw goat’s milk (6 oz goat’s milk + 2 oz water) from the time my son was 3 months until 9 months. Worked very well for him.

  21. Maria says:

    Coconut water is my best suggestion. I’m sure that the babies will not get the same nutritional value from coconut water as formula..but they will be prevented from developing dehydration (it is full of electrolytes).
    Also, do not forget that in the past, countries in need of blood plasma, have used coconut water as IV fluid.

  22. Victoria says:

    Goats milk is also great for infants. Make sure it is a healthy goat. We are praying for Haiti.

  23. Alisa says:

    I was just thinking about this yesterday upon seeing all those babies sleeping outside. ! I am a nursing mother of a 1 year old
    and if there was a way to pump and ship to you I would do it in a heartbeat. I wish there was a way to get together a group of us lactating mothers to you!

  24. Alisa says:

    I keep thinking about the babies. You have a lot of great suggestions above. God help Haiti!

  25. Publia says:

    Here are a number of resources from the World Health Organization
    http://www.who.int/nutrition/publications/infantfeeding/en/index.html

    more info here, but from La Leche League, so may or may not be helpful
    http://www.llli.org/emergency.html

  26. kt says:

    I found this from WHO

    If you can find nursing mothers willing to help, you can boil their milk in order to maker sure there is no HIV transmission. THe WHO says “expressed breast-milk given by
    another mother or mothers. This should be heated to 57 0C for
    30 minutes. This kills viruses (including HIV) and bacteria.”

    If you have access to cows milk you can use this recipe…

    – Boil 1/3 cup of water and
    – 2/3 cup of boiled cow’s milk, to make 1 cup (200mls) of feed.
    – Add 1 level teaspoonful (5ml) of sugar.

    hope this helps.

  27. AP says:

    I would highly recommend you contact UNICEF in Haiti as soon as possible – they are the leads for the nutrition cluster (the coordination mechanism for the humanitarian response). They will help you access appropriate replacement milks and also direct you to guidance on infant feeding in emergencies. The risks of illness are extremely high if you feed these children inappropriate alternatives and UNICEF (and other organizations) have done a lot of work to identify appropriate solutions for feeding infants safely after a disaster like this.

Leave a Reply

