Adding a little levity to the situation…

Everything has been so incredibly heavy and intense this past week, I though we could all use a laugh from reports of the boy’s trip up to Seattle.

  • The boys flew on a private luxury jet out of Haiti with their teacher (and close friend) Anna, yet Anna reports they were more enamored with their taxi ride from the airport than their ride on the jet.
  • Trey washed his hands no less than 15 times in each airport and was awestruck that the faucets turned on by themselves. He and Henley were also amazed at the fountain soda machine, that it “put in ice by itself” and “made coke without a bottle.”
  • While waiting to board the plane in Florida, Trey was perplexed by the people getting off the plane. He inquired why, to which Casey responded they came to see him because he was the most famous ninja warrior in Haitian history. Trey, not using his inside voice, exclaimed, “I’m not famous, I’m just funny.” Which was confirmed by everyone waiting at the gate laughing.
  • When they finally began boarding and Casey said, “Time to get on the plane.” Trey jumped up and ordered, “Gentlemen, let’s go!!!”
  • Casey said if he had to give advice to someone who is flying with a child living in a developing nation, he would tell them, “Make sure you fully explain how terribly loud the toilet is when flushed on an airplane. It sent Trey into a panicked frenzy.
  • Keeping on the theme of Trey, he wore headphones the entire time and never seemed to understand that when he talked loud enough so that he actually could hear himself, that meant he was screaming.
  • And of course Henley was so startled in Chicago by the urinal flushing itself that, well, let’s just say it negatively effected his aim.

Despite flying for 7 hours today, and enduring some choppy flights and lame jokes from their uncle, Casey says they were phenomenal. Carmelo was a huge help and everyone made it safely to Seattle upon which a Nerf gun battle of epic proportions commenced.

I would also like to thank Casey’s wife Briana’s parents, Terry and Phyllis Posey, as well as their daughter Hannah and son Clayton, for being such a tremendous blessing to my boys during this difficult time.

Friday they are heading to the Seattle Zoo. Also, Carmelo is on a mission to play in snow. He’s never seen it. Many more fun adventures to follow, including a new cousin that is supposed to be born Feb 2!!!

Casey wrote and said he is already beginning to receive giftcards to help purchase items for the boys. They left with one small backpack between them, and I stuffed half of that full of homeschool materials. A reminder that if you would like to send a giftcard for them, send it to my brother

Casey Zachary
1102 8th Ave #101
Seattle, WA 98101

I

LOVE

MY

BOYS

25 Responses to Adding a little levity to the situation…

  1. Bonnie says:

    We love them, too, Licia and Enoch.
    I’d like you to know just how often prayers are sent off from the land of snow and cold (Minneapolis) at random hours of the day and night for your family and for the work ahead of you.

  2. Sharel says:

    Seattle will never be the same. But neither will they but that is not a bad thing.
    Love to you all

  3. Sandy Kinnaman says:

    Gotta love them. Boys are so much fun. In hearing these episodes, I can envision my 3 sons when they were that age doing and saying some of the same things. They were somewhat sheltered here in rural Indiana. I know you miss them like crazy but I am thankful that they are safe and cared for. Love you ❤

  4. Caroline says:

    aren’t you glad your boys are such a source of entertainment for us? I think Dora is going to fit right in with them…

  5. eloranicole says:

    ohmigoodness! hilarious stories…thanks for posting – a little laughter certainly goes a long way. praying for you guys.

  6. katehopeeden says:

    I’m so glad to see something happy 🙂
    You are all in my thoughts daily.
    Much love,
    ~K

  7. Claire Abel says:

    Thank you for posting all these adventures. It gives us some bright happy hopeful news instead of the gloom.
    I am praying that your boys will be Jesus’ bright and shinning light for Haiti.

  8. kathy says:

    I know you will miss them.

  9. Audrey Ann says:

    We so enjoy hearing the updates about the boys! I bet they are having a blast…and missing you. I am praying and love you all!

  10. Sharon says:

    That is just too funny! Casey is a riot – they all get it honest!!! I’m glad they are having such a fun time – how awesome is that? Love to all. Praying and Praying and then praying some more.

  11. dawn says:

    “and “made coke without a bottle.”” 🙂 Too cute!!

  12. Carol Harwood says:

    Don’t you just love kids! They always tell it like it is. You must be so relieved that the trip went well and they are safe and sound with family.Praying for your family and all or your staff. My trip with WWV in March is postponed due to my own recent shoulder surgery. BUT, someday this year I WILL get there to meet you!

  13. Keverly says:

    I’m sitting in the middle of the computer lab here at Liberty – and I laughed out loud more than once reading that post. Too cute! I’m so glad they are doing well!

  14. Molly says:

    I was practically stalking Casey on Twitter during their trip, waiting for more funny stories. Just warmed my heart that they were able to take them during this difficult time. As horrible as the circumstances surrounding this visit are, it’ll be good memories for your kids. And Casey will surely keep them laughing if nothing else!

  15. I laughed loudest at the 2 toilet incidents, of course. No point in denying my immaturity.

  16. Keneta Wolfenbarger says:

    I found this site after the earthquake, and I’ve been reading it and looking at the photos ever since. Precious boys of yours’! And precious people of Haiti! I’m praying for them!

  17. Sarah Wright says:

    I was reading this update aloud so my household could get it all at once and I got so tickled that I had to stop more than once. Thank you for sharing these “highs” with us. God knew we all needed a little levity.

    Still praying!

    Andy and Sarah Wright

  18. Roberta says:

    AW. Thanks for the sweet (and funny!) stories. You have the CUTEST boys!

  19. Fervent, relentless, victorious prayer surrounds your family and your work. There are endless numbers of people lifting you up, sustaining you in prayer. The aid comes in trickles, with great effort, but it comes at just the right time, as God himself ordains it. May you all be renewed every morning with supernatural energy and insight. May your souls be refreshed through sleep and our Lord’s mighty grace. What manner of miracles will you bring us today? Lord, we trust and thank you!!!!

  20. Too funny! Love it!

    Praying for all of you!

    In HOPE,
    Cindy

  21. Jen says:

    Oh my gosh how funny! Those toilets are loud and they scare my 5 year old EVERY time! Lol 🙂 So glad they are here, safe, and having a GREAT time! Praying for all of you!

  22. Tanya says:

    thanks for sharing those stories about your precious boys…. praying God’s protection over the rest of your family still in Haiti.

  23. Carmen says:

    so thankful – can’t imagine how much you must miss them – still praying

  24. soy candles says:

    You have a great blog. I loved reading it very much. Thanks keep up the wonderful work.

  25. carly says:

    ronel wanted to say happy birthday carmelo

    he also wanted to say he gave rosena your number and wants to know if you can call him. and he gave her patrick’s number too…he says.

    LOL

    Love,

    Carly

Leave a Reply

