Special needs for the semi container

We have thought of a few more needs for the clinic and the RC.  These are odd needs to some, but much needed for our work here.  All of these would be great to send on the upcoming semi container.

Bumbo seats!  We love them for the kids in the RC.  They are great for the babies and the malnourished children.  Sometimes you can find them at garage sales.  Who knows maybe if several of you write the company they would donate some for us.  They usually last 6 to 8 months for the kids in the RC.  The are used daily for about 15 to 20 kids.

Our scales have been taking a beating these past few years.  With around 13oo patients passing each week in the clinic they get a lot of use.  We need a standing scale for adults.  Our dream scale would have a display for kg and pounds.

We have round 10 of these small basinet baby beds.  Several of them are cracked and broken.  We are looking for some new beds for our small babies like these pictured below.

We are also in need of wheelchairs and any size crutches.

13 Responses to Special needs for the semi container

  1. Angie S says:

    I have emailed Blickman the company that makes the plastic bassinet baskets and another distributor. I also emailed Wartburg Enterprises the maker of Bumbo seats. Maybe the emails will fall into the right hands and you needs can be met!

  2. Debbie Woodward says:

    Licia,

    A woman called this morning and has ordered 13 bumbo seats that I will pick up at a Walmart closest to my house. That’s a good start. It was great to see the kids in the bumbo seats.

    I will add it to my list on our website and the information I send out to people.

    Debbie

  3. Angie DiNardi says:

    I have a Bumbo seat in my attic that I never used. And also an infant seat like I saw in on of your earlier posts. I would love to donate some of these items. How do I get them to you??

    Angie

    • Debbie Woodward says:

      I am organizing a container in Minnesota. You can ship things to me at the following address:

      Debbie Woodward
      Northrup King Building, Main Office
      1500 Jackson Street NE
      Minneapolis, MN 55413

      They are also putting together items for a container in Slidell Louisiana if that is closer to you.

  4. enola says:

    I wanted to tell everyone that you can often get crutches, walkers and wheelchails at Salvation Army or Good Will for dirt cheap. I went into the Good Will near my house the other day and asked the manager if she could give me a good deal on all the cruthes and walkers so that I could send them to Haiti. She gave me everything they had (about 7 pairs of crutches, 8 walkers and a wheelchair) for $35.00. I will get these to Sue deRada to send to you all. Thanks for all the hard work. God is smiling on you.

  5. sisters in the Lord betty/marny says:

    DEBBIE WOODWARD- could you please tell us when the container will be shipped as we would like to get some Bumboseats to the centre. would have them shipped
    direct to you as we are from Canada. God bless– thanks for what you are doing.
    We left a email with Anna yesterday but see that was not necessary.

  6. dawn says:

    I am wondering when the container will ship as well. Please let us know how long we have to get the things to you guys! 🙂 PRAYING!!!

  7. Deb says:

    Wondering also when the container is going. I am located in WI and if still needed could possibly drive some crutches and a wheelchair to MN – cheaper than shipping them.

  8. Debbie Woodward says:

    I am praying daily that we will be able to ship by mid-March. The earlier I receive your donations the better. We inventory all the donations so that the staff in Haiti can see what is coming and if we should be requesting other items. Then we will sort and put like items on the same pallets.

    If you order the bumbo seats online from Walmart you can give them my name and information and I can pick them up at the store in Brooklyn Park, Minnesota.

    It is a ship to store order. This will save you the cost of shipping from Canada. My phone number is (612) 363-5612 if anybody has any questions and my e-mail is debra_woodward@msn.com

    I suspect we will be in this for the long term but right now we would like to get many of these needs met. Please spread the word to everybody you know. You would be surprised what people might already have available.

    If people haven’t seen the complete list of needs, I have posted them on our website at work (mostly a visual artist building) at http://www.northrupkingbuilding.com — Click the full story at the bottom of the Helping Haiti article.

    A container is HUGE and I know that I cannot do it but that GOD and his people can. Maybe people already have crutches and wheelchairs available or know someone who does or is willing to chip in to by them. The Courage Center in Minnesota sells used equipment so that could be a possibility fo rme to pick items up at the Courage Center — it is only about 5 miles from my house.

    Thank you to everybody who is sending REAL HOPE to HAITI. God bless and protect Zach, Licia, Lori, Charles, Enoch, Anna, Caroline and all the staff in Haiti — HIS faithful servants.

  9. Debbie Woodward says:

    I am praying daily that we will be able to ship by mid-March. The earlier I receive your donations the better. We inventory all the donations so that the staff in Haiti can see what is coming and if we should be requesting other items. Then we will sort and put like items on the same pallets.

    If you order the bumbo seats online from Walmart you can give them my name and information and I can pick them up at the store in Brooklyn Park, Minnesota.

    It is a ship to store order. This will save you the cost of shipping from Canada. My phone number is (612) 363-5612 if anybody has any questions and my e-mail is debra_woodward@msn.com

    I suspect we will be in this for the long term but right now we would like to get many of these needs met. Please spread the word to everybody you know. You would be surprised what people might already have available.

    If people haven’t seen the complete list of needs, I have posted them on our website at work (mostly a visual artist building) at http://www.northrupkingbuilding.com — Click the full story at the bottom of the Helping Haiti article.

    A container is HUGE and I know that I cannot do it but that GOD and his people can. Maybe people already have crutches and wheelchairs available or know someone who does or is willing to chip in to by them. The Courage Center in Minnesota sells used equipment so that could be a possibility for me to pick items up at the Courage Center — it is only about 5 miles from my house.

    Thank you to everybody who is sending REAL HOPE to HAITI. God bless and protect Zach, Licia, Lori, Charles, Enoch, Anna, Caroline and all the staff in Haiti — HIS faithful servants.

  10. Nikki says:

    I have had a ton of clothes donated to me with the intention of sending them to Haiti. I see that you aren’t accepting clothes. I realize there are probably much bigger needs right now! Should I just store them in my house until my friends go to Haiti, or I plan another trip, or does anyone know of a way to either 1) get clothes to RHFH, or 2) other organizations accepting donations of clothes and shoes?

    Thanks!

  11. Nikki says:

    And also, what about menstrual pads? I have a bunch of those I could send…

Leave a Reply

