I’m Leaving……Mwen Ale

Later this afternoon Caroline and I will be leaving to return to the USA.  We will stay overnight in FL and then travel to our destinations on Friday.  There are so many emotion in leaving here.  I have lived here for 15 years now.  This is home.  I usually leave once a year for about 3 to 4 weeks to speak at churches and visit family.  The earthquake has changed everything.  Enoch and I are here and our kids our with family and have been for several weeks now.  They are doing wonderful and having a great time where they are at.  We are so thankful for that.  It gives us peace. But they need me and I need them, so I must go.  We know that we are so blessed to have those willing to take of three wild boys.  We also are aware of so many that do not have this option. This weighs heavy on our hearts and we know that it is not right.   This is one hard part of going for me-guilt.

So of course, the hardest part of this trip will be once again leaving Enoch here.  It is not fair, not fair at all.  But that is life and there is nothing we can do about it now.  I cannot say I have hope for the future for a visa for Enoch cause I do not.  I have learned not to.  We will have to wait until the offices open back up here in Haiti. No one knows when that will be.  When it does happen I will be letting you all know so we together can call the senators and congressman to try and help him.  Enoch loves me and the boys so much.  His boys are his life.  He has given up his dreams for what he wanted for his future so that I can fulfil mine.  He supports me in my work of running the Rescue Center.  I appreciate and love him more for that.  The earthquake has been hard for him.  He has lost friends, he has friends that have lost limbs, he has friends that have lost family and houses.  He gets depressed at times.  He wonders how his country will recover.  He wonders what the future holds.  He has hopes and dreams for change but cannot see how they will happen anytime soon.  I would love it if you had  time to write him a quick note of encouragement or an email.  You can send it to my email address at licia@realhopeforhaiti.org and he will get it. We as a family appreciate your love and prayer during this time.

I will also be leaving the best sister in the world behind.  She has been working so hard these past few weeks to give care to the people that she loves.  She and Charles have given up their new home (they lost their first home in the flood) to house patients from the comfort ship.  These patients now have a safe and comfortable place to recover.  She is also doing a lot of correspondence to keep things a float. She gives of herself everyday 110%  and I love her so much.

Dad will be staying in Haiti for now.  He leaves every morning early to travel to different location.  He might be picking up supplies, buying medications, picking up new patients, taking patients to hospitals, going to the airport, etc.  He has been busy every single day.  We give him list of things to get done and that is what he is doing.  We need him here right now.

My brother Casey will be visiting this coming week.  Everyone here is looking forward to him coming back.  It has been too long.

 Anna will be staying here and helping to run the rescue center while I am gone.  They will be moving to the new location soon.  She will be getting everything set up for the kids and making sure everything runs well.  We are all very excited about her dad visiting soon.  He will get to see first hand what we do here and will be helping to get things set up for the kids as well.  Wish her mom coudl come as well 🙂

I will continue to try and blog for the three weeks I am in the USA.  I do not know how much time I will have as I want to spend as much time as possible with the boys.  I am hoping the Casey and Anna will guest blog while I am gone to keep you up to date of what is happening here in Haiti.  Enoch and I do not have any fixed dates for the boys to return to Haiti.  We are looking towards sometime in April. 

We continue to ask each of you to pray for Haiti and its future.  We ask that you pray for the Zachary, Moise and Betor families.  We love each of you and appreciate you so much.

16 Responses to I’m Leaving……Mwen Ale

  1. Lori says:

    I just wanted you to know that I will be praying for you, Licia, as you travel to the U.S. and spend time with your boys. I am sure that will be a bittersweet time as you wish your husband could be with you and also knowing you will be leaving them again.

    I will also pray for Enoch. I cannot imagine how hard it will be for him to have you be gone while he also continues to miss his children.

    That doesn’t even touch on the subject of the grief that you both are feeling with the great losses you have seen and experienced.

    All of these requests will be brought before your loving heavenly Father who knows everything about you and cares about every detail! He will comfort and keep you in this very difficult time.

  2. Praying for you always.

  3. Happymom4 says:

    We have not forgotten you, and we have not forgotten Enoch. We are praying that God moves mountains for all of you . . . and for healing and hope to come. For peace during your separation. . . .

    May God comfort each of you in the ways you need.

  4. cindi tigner says:

    Licia, will be praying for you and Enoch in these next few weeks. I know you feel hopeless about the visa. But don’t give up, our God is HUGE! He can and will do more than we could ever ask for. Know you are loved and prayed for.

  5. Jen says:

    My heart is hurting for you. Know that we are praying for Enoch, you, the boys, this situation, and the people of Haiti.

  6. Rob says:

    Thanks for sharing your hearts cry to us. I know its difficult to leave without your husband. God will work everything out in His time. Its hard to be patient. We have not forgotten you or Haiti. That is why we started MAD 4 Haiti. Our goal of mad4haiti.org is to keep Haiti alive and help the community to remember this country and the terrible earthquake that devastated the country a month ago. We have money raised to help and will continue to do so. God is good! Praying!

  7. Kayla says:

    Praying too. I hate being with out my husband and am sorry you two have to be apart. I’m also sorry that you will not be able to be together as you “decompress” in the States. I wish my magic wand were up and running so I could just fix it. Believing God sees all of your sacrifices and hurts and fears…

  8. Lorenda says:

    Licia, we appreciate so much all you have done for the people of Haiti. It seems crazy to think that you of all people, can’t have this time with your husband in the states. But I am so glad that you are so intimately connected to the Lord, because I trust He will help you understand with time, or at least be at peace. Your dedication has inspired me tremendously for the 18 months I have “known you”. Thank you and God bless this next step. We rejoice with Daphca every day and will always tell her what you and Lori and the rest of the team mean to us and to her. Thank you for your efforts with the abandonment documentation. Thank you for your love for Keverly and for EVERYTHING!!

  9. Tanya says:

    praying for your three wonderful families!

  10. Audrey Ann says:

    I LOVE YOU, LICIA! Every day I feel sick about what is going on and the fact that I have an injured hip and haven’t been able to train for the marathon recently. But I am trying to push on…and I am getting sponsors. 🙂 You all are on our prayer list at church. I love you!!! The Lord is faithful even when the world seems black.

  11. All I can say is that like Carmen we are still praying….

  12. E from Illinois says:

    Love and prayers 🙂

  13. Liza says:

    I have been reading your blog since the earthquake. Just wanted to let you know that you and your family and friends are constantly in my prayers.
    God bless you.

  14. dawn says:

    Oh Licia and Enoch….praying for both of you. And for the boys. What a difficult time. God, hold them close.

  15. Sonia says:

    Just wanted to tell you all how much I appreciate and respect you for what you do. Licia,do not feel guilty for leaving to see your children. You give 110% of yourself for others everyday and now it is time for you to do something for yourself, and for the boys. They need you and you need them. I am so sorry that Enoch was not able to go as well, I’m sure he is longing to be reunited with them as well. But I know that God has a plan and maybe He needs Enoch in Haiti right now to fulfill His work. This is one of those times when all we can do is to trust in Him. My thoughts and prayers are with all of you.

Leave a Reply

