Sewing update

SO sorry to those of you who have been waiting for this info. to get started sewing.  Truth is I know close to nothing about sewing and have had to do some research… its hard when you know what you want but you don’t know anything about it 🙂  Here is a link to what all the staff here and Licia and I agree are the best diapers.

http://www.ottobredesign.com/en/print/pdf/vaippa_en.pdf

The inside padding without the elastic is actually counter-productive so if you do not have time or ability to add elastic, don’t pad the inside.  Please leave the Velcro out and instead sew two strong strings about an inch from the top of the diaper across diaper with about a foot extra on both sides so when it is wrapped around the waste it can be tied twice…

for the dresses… really any pattern that comes up when you type in “pillowcase dresses” in google works… and it’s fun to have different looking clothes for all the kids so pick your favorite!    The smaller the dress, the more likely it is that it will be used daily in the rescue center.  We do hand out clothes to the community and have a handful of older kids though, so any size will be used!

My mom actually made the pattern for the aprons that the ladies requested and has made the dresses before, so if you want the apron pattern or the pattern she used for the dressed,  or have any further questions please email her at

kagstrom@surewest.net

A lot of people have asked for a deadline… By the end of March/ middle of April would be awesome because that is when we had initially hoped to get the container ready to send out here.  If you aren’t able to get them to MN by then, NO WORRIES! As you can imagine, we go through quite a few diapers and it is a constant and ongoing need.

And answers to a couple other questions…

*Quality over quantity, hands down! We’d much rather have five diapers that hold in the mess than 25 pieces of rectangular fabric.

*We will take store bought cloth diapers if you’d rather not or can’t sew- like me 🙂

*Blankets/quilts are a need but because of the frequency of use and them being washed daily we ask they are made thin so they dry faster.

*There is not a point where we will no longer have a need for these things, so if you are asking if we still need them, yes!

*All our diapers are hand washed daily.

Thanks to everyone getting involved in this- the diapers, aprons and dresses will be well-used and much appreciated 🙂

28 Responses to Sewing update

  1. FlyLadyFan says:

    Thanks for the additional info … that’s what I needed to get started. God bless your ministry.

  2. Stephanie S says:

    Thanks for the info. I actually just finished making the second dress. So excited to be doing this!!

  3. Shannon says:

    I went searching all over the internet and came across the diaper pattern you have above as a good option style-wise. However, compared to every other pattern, the sizing is humungous. I mean seriously, the “newborn” size scaled 3 inches shorter and an inch narrower fit on a chubby 14-month old we were babysitting. Do you really want them that large? And since my sample diaper has velcro, do you still want it? 😉

    • haitirescuecenter says:

      good! and of course well take velcro 🙂 if you are able to downscale the size or find the same pattern smaller that would be awesome!

      • Shannon says:

        I’ve downsized the pattern so I have what I’ll call Medium/Large, as noted above and similar to other patterns, and a size smaller as well. If someone else needs my downsized patterns, I’ll be happy to share. Leave a comment with your e-mail address and we’ll try to figure something out.

  4. Happymom4 says:

    would you have a use for skirts? I can make small ones . . and have a gorgeous 3 tier pattern I love. LMK, please. My teen daughter and I can’t wait to sew for you.

  5. Jen says:

    Our ladies are church are very excited to get sewing! 🙂 Sending some dresses and diapers your way soon! 🙂

  6. lisa says:

    we are taming up and making some dresses for you and for our community as well..My mother in law has made 75 baby slings for our community…do these work for you at all for the mommies there?? If so then let me know and we can start on these again as well..

  7. Kris Tesch says:

    What are the soakers in the middle of the diaper made of? Can the soakers be made of terrycloth or thin blanket batting sewn into the middle of the diaper?
    Also, In stead of ties on the top of the pillowcases dresses can we sew buttons? What are the little boys wearing? Do they need something made for them?
    I have the Girl and Boy Scouts helping and we are all eager to get started 🙂
    Thanks.
    Kris Tesch

    • haitirescuecenter says:

      the soakers are made of anything that will soak up 🙂 usually people will use batting, weve had people use old socks or t-shirts. whatever you can find/afford. the only problem with buttons is they arent adjustable and they are a choking hazard when they fall off. We would rather have ties, or safety pins with them…

  8. Jodi Ellis says:

    Am planning a dress sewing day for March 13th. I also am experimenting with a prefold cloth diaper, trying to see the best way to add string and elastic. I have a four month old to help with testing. If/when I come up with a success I will make up a tutorial for you to post if you’d like.

  9. Natalie says:

    I have sundresses sized baby-4T that are gently used. My daughter and I were going to go through the clothes we’ve saved to send, if that’s okay. Would you be able to use dresses in these sizes as long as they are light fabric? Just wanted to double check that these items would be useful before sending:)

    Thanks!

  10. Denise says:

    I just sewed a diaper with the pattern you suggested. I agree with Shannon-they are huge. Also the elastic length they suggest for the legs is not tight enough. I will try to make them smaller-the babies would drown in these!!! I found a great economical way to get large pieces of flannel is using bedsheets. I will be on a sewing marathon for the next many weeks making as many as I possible can.

  11. Outi says:

    Thanks for all the information, I was just thinking about to write you. I’m currently looking for the best pattern for the dresses. Which sizes do you need the most? Can I use zipper for the dresses (if I make similar dresses as the blue one in the 15.2. post)? Can I sew something for boys – what would they need? I think that my clothes will come later in the Spring, but good to hear that there is no specific deadline.

  12. christi says:

    here is a good pattern for the pillowcase dresses:
    http://freshlypicked.blogspot.com/2008/03/pillow-case-dress-tutorial.html

    We found that for the smallest sizes, sewing the pillowcases in a bit made them smaller around for the littlest girls. Anna told us at the time that they really do need a variety of sizes…………

    Christi (Anna’s mom)

  13. Denise says:

    I am busy sewing the diapers, but am wondering if you would like plastic/vinyl/nylon pants to put over the diapers. I know they are very difficult to find-I did find them available online. If I would donate them also, would they be appreciated?

  14. Carmela says:

    Thanx for the update, excited to get started on some!

  15. Mandy says:

    I am also working on some diapers to send. I’ve made one diaper and with the elastic you have to pull it tight as you sew it down with a zig-zag stitch, there will be leftover elastic.

    I’m trying to get a group of girls together to sew some dresses and other things! Thanks for letting us know how we can help.

  16. Linda Wolff` says:

    Shannon, could you please e-mail me the smaller pattern for diapers?

Leave a Reply

