Think about it-repost from July 16,2009

According to UNICEF, 25,000 children die each day due to poverty. And they “die quietly in some of the poorest villages on earth, far removed from the scrutiny and the conscience of the world. Being meek and weak in life makes these dying multitudes even more invisible in death.”

sickkids1

Number of children in the world

2.2 billion

Number in poverty
1 billion (every second child)
Shelter, safe water and health
For the 1.9 billion children from the developing world, there are:

  • 640 million without adequate shelter (1 in 3)
  • 400 million with no access to safe water (1 in 5)
  • 270 million with no access to health services (1 in 7)

Gilderson567

Survival for children
Worldwide,
  • 10.6 million died in 2003 before they reached the age of 5 (same as children population in France, Germany, Greece and Italy)
  • 1.4 million die each year from lack of access to safe drinking water and adequate sanitation

(pictures taken  in the RC)

9 Responses to Think about it-repost from July 16,2009

  1. Lynn from the Indiana team says:

    Hey! I know that guy! Thanks for posting Gilderson’s picture! There isn’t an hour that goes by that I don’t think about you and wonder what you are all doing and how everyone is. How are Kenny and Brenda doing?

    Miss you all! You all are in my prayers. We share about our trip on Sunday. YOu don’t need to post this, but thanks for Gilderson’s picture!

    Lynn

  2. Lisa keefer says:

    Those are pics today???? There are days I read your blog and think this is the worst that I have seen,then in a few days I again read and just can’t believe what I see and read!! Send me a baby!!!!I wish it was that easy don’t you???? Sometimes I feel so guilty with what all God has blessed me and my family with and overwhelmed at the same time. When I was in Haiti In December part of my heart was left there. I pray for you guys and for the babies and families that have to leave their children there! Please pray for me as well, I feel like God is wanting me to do something not sure what but I feel like he’s getting ready to show me! Pray for me to Be Still so I can hear it!!! I can’t wait to come and be a nurse with you guys in a few years, maybe 2010 fall!!! God bless you and keeping on being faithful to what God wants you to do!!!!

  3. Ginger Smith says:

    Yay! It’s Gilderson!! And he’s crying! That’s wonderful! (I mean that in the best way:)

    Can’t wait to come back 🙂 Hope all is well

    -ginger

  4. […] Think About It: According to UNICEF, 25,000 children die each day due to poverty. And they “die quietly in some of the poorest villages on earth, far removed from the scrutiny and the conscience of the world. Being meek and weak in life makes these dying multitudes even more invisible in death.” […]

  5. Teresa Ko-Davis says:

    Sorry to hear this.

  6. Sharel says:

    The truth is this is a meer drop in the bucket of the problems you see and hear everyday in Haiti . Never enough money, water,supplies, hours in a day or enough hands. The truth is God loves you and loves these people. They are his children the same as the rest of this world. His promises are true and they are yours, mine and theres. He is in the business of making a way where there is no way. He sees his children(that means you) crying and he answers your cry. Rest in the love of our faithful Father and King.
    One child and problem at a time. You save them one at a time.
    Lord in heaven give to your servent , this faithful woman that belongs to you, your undieing love, grace and hope. Your word say you give rest to the weary and hope to the hopless. I pray that you give your promise to RHH in a measure that they can not contain. Let your peace rein over everyone there in the walls of that mission. Let your saving grace flood the gates and inside there homes. Give them peace. Give them joy. Give them laughter. Give them hands. Give them supplies. Hold not one good gift back from them. Allow them a glimps into your heart for what you want to accomplish in and through them. Cause them to push forward each day with energy and joy. I pray this in the mighty name of Jesus my Lord and Savior. AMEN I love you and the work you do.

  7. […] causes grief because of the hopelessness, knowing that you will probably lose this child too.The full post goes on with statistics that blow my mind when I stop and think about the size of the numbers. […]

  8. Bekki says:

    Thanks for reminding us that the extreme situation in Haiti did NOT begin with the earthquake. Thanks for being the Hands of God to these kids. Thanks for allowing His Love to flow through you. You are truly “Blessed among women”. I send you love and strength.

Leave a Reply

