Sunday May 2nd

Darlens is improving slowly.  He has a few good days and then a few bad days.  Please keep him in your prayers and pray he continues to get well.  Anna is working hard with him one on one to get him to gain some more weight.

This is Robenson.  He only weighed about 3 pounds a few months ago.  He had been staying at Pat and Melinda’s place and gaining weight there.  He is back with us until his family comes to pick him up.  Robenson is up to 8 1/2 pounds.

This is Loner.  Loner was in the RC for several months.  He needed one on one care.  He was also at Pat and Melinda’s place.  He left here at 4 pounds and came back at 25 pounds.  We are waiting on his papa to come back to get him.

WOW!  I have had a busy few weeks! 

  • Two of our computer were attacked by a virus and are being repaired so we have had limited internet time.  We hope to be back to normal this week sometime. 
  •  Dad is back in Haiti for about 10 days.  He will be working on getting the containers out of customs and unpacked.  A big job!  The containers arrived here in Haiti yesterday. 
  •  We have been blessed with many donations this week.  I will try to get a post up soon about them. 
  • The boys are getting back into the routine of school and doing well back in Haiti.  Trey had forgotten some of his Creole.  So he is working on picking it back up.  Before he left he spoke more Creole than English. 
  • The kids in the RC are doing great.  I love the “new” place and am excited about fixing it up some in the coming months.
  • We got 21 miles of walking in this week!  So happy about that.
  • Enoch still does not have a passport.  US embassy said they never could find it.  Working on Haitian immigration and getting a new one issued.
  • It is really, really, hot here. 
  • Pray for rain to begin soon for the farmer and their crops to grow.
  • They have been building a bridge across the river here in Cazale for over a year now.  You will be able to drive a car across it.  it is almost complete.
  • I am taking suggestion for baby girl names :) Leave them in the comment section below.  Her middle name will be Lynn after my mom.
  • Any other questions you might have as well leave in the comment section and I will try to answer some for you.
  • Have a great Sunday!

31 Responses to Sunday May 2nd

  1. Sharon Ott says:

    I suggest your mom’s first name too.🙂

  2. Stephanie S says:

    Julia
    Ella
    Aubrey
    Amya
    Sierra
    Cadence

  3. Stephanie says:

    My favorite girl names:

    Amaya
    Anais
    Elena

  4. Theresa says:

    Rachel
    Olivia
    Audrey
    Cecile

    I like the Ella suggestion from Stephanie S

    and I think the choice for the middle name is wonderful!! What a wonderful way to honor your mother, but it is also my middle name!!🙂

    praying for Enoch’s passport and healthy pregnancy for you & your baby girl…

  5. Kim says:

    I can’t believe the containers are there!! I can’t wait to see what wonderful things you’ve received!

  6. Erin says:

    Waverly

  7. Bekki says:

    Mercy, Faith, or Joy for names. Or some lovely Kreyol name.

    Praying for you all – glad to see Darlens is looking well. Praying for Enoch – Djenica prays every night thanking God for letting him find Joseph.

    Counting down the days….18 and counting

    love and miss you!

  8. Dana says:

    I always appreciate the encouraging news on the babies’ progress. I’m really glad you and your husband and boys are back together.

    I like the name Tessara, which is a Greek word for four, used when the number 4 is a set, like the four winds, or the four corners of the compass. It’s pronounced with the accent on the middle syllable, sort of like Sarah with a little addition at the beginning.

    After that, Mercy is one of my favorite names.

    Blessings to each of you!

  9. dawn says:

    Girl names! FUN!!🙂

    Ashtyn
    Savanah
    Tabitha
    Julia
    Emilee

    (my girls :))

    And Darlens is looking SO good!! What a sweetie!🙂

  10. Karen Osler says:

    Sabine and Loverly are some Haitian names we have grown to love. My name is Karen Lynn so naturally that is a good name! I’m so happy for you!
    Karen (Lynn) Osler

  11. enola says:

    Victoria Lynn Betor

    sounds like a pretty name

  12. kim says:

    Carrie Lynn, Tamara Lynn

  13. emma. my baby girl is emma. i think emma lynn would sound just precious.

  14. Lorabeth Hoover says:

    I have been pondering this question myself.
    A version of Lori and half of mine would make
    Lora Lynn Betor–pretty sweet!
    Prayers and hugs!!!

    • Lora Mapp says:

      How funny! Lorabeth, who posted before me, suggested the name Lora Beth Betor. My name is LORA:) What are the odds? It is NOT a common name for sure. I was going to suggest Bethany Lynn Betor but…..may I offer Lora Lynn as well? My middle name is Lee after my grandfather.

  15. kathy says:

    Grace
    Karis/Charis (also means grace)

  16. Shari says:

    Nevaeh – Heaven backwards. If I have another girl I think it will be her name. it is so pretty!

  17. Debby Smith says:

    It is exciting to hear the containers have arrived. I did lots of the packing in Minnesota. Hope it all goes well with customs. My daughter Rachel, who is a nurse and I could come to help you unpack. we can also with anything you need. let us know and we will come and help.

  18. Benita says:

    What’s Creole for “hope?”

    Also, I love the name Abigail. Abigail Lynn – lovely!

  19. andrea schmick says:

    Do you ever see the RC growing in such a way that your family would need to take on another “missionary” family – especially as the number of orphans increases in Haiti post earthquake? Just wondering.🙂

    Girl names…😀
    Emma
    Jane
    Elia
    Sally
    Lucy

  20. Keverly says:

    Aw, Lin is my middle name too =) spelled differently but pretty much the same. It took me 9 months to choose Joy for Daphca’s middle name – I wouldn’t even know where to start with choosing first AND middle! I can’t help but wonder if she’ll have Trey’s cute little bowl chin…?

    I Miss you!

  21. Jen says:

    What about something like Enissa or Enicia? Sort of a mix of yours and Enoch’s names. Praying for all of you and for the containers to come out of customs quickly!

  22. Chris says:

    When hubby and I were thinking of names we wanted to chose ones that counded the same in both Creole and English. That way no matter who was saying the name it sounded pretty much the same. So my suggestions:

    Cora
    Colette
    Isabelle
    Maliah
    Anisia

    I can’t wait to see her, she will be one beautiful, blessed baby!!! Congrats!

  23. Rachel Thimjon says:

    I have to put in a vote for “Nadia” – it means Hope.

    Your daughter will surely follow in the footsteps
    of her family and be real hope for Haiti…

    Rachel in MN

  24. Sharel says:

    Loudnie says Merlanda
    I say SonShine Lynn Your mom was a ray of sun shine for the Son of God. Love ya
    Hey a little more then a month and we will be there with you. Can’t wait.

  25. Hope says:

    Joanna – Gift of God

  26. Sadie says:

    Abigail Lynn Betor – 1 Sam. 25:3 Abigail means “A Father’s Joy” (My Abigail Lettie is turning 10 this month!)

    Bethany Lynn Betor – Matt. 21:17 Bethany means “the house of song”

    Elizabeth Lynn Betor – Luke 1:5 “the oath, or fullness, of God. ” – so many nicknames – Lizzie, Beth, Betty, etc.

    Joanna Lynn Betor – Luke 8:3 – “grace or gift of the Lord.”

    Miriam Lynn Betor – Exodus 15:20 – “rebellion”.

    Naomi Lynn Betor – Ruth 1:2 – “beautiful; agreeable.”

    Susanna Lynn Betor – Luke 8:3 – “lily; rose; joy.”

  27. katehopeeden says:

    I wanted to name my first daughter Tiana, after the book Walk In My Soul by Lucia St. Clair Robson.
    I wish I had done it instead of letting her dad sway me.
    I ALMOST named my youngest daughter two different names but she wasn’t born on the days she was supposed to and because I am crazy, I believed it was a sign that she wanted a different name🙂
    She would have been Lylou or Lily.
    She ended up being Triniti.
    ~K

  28. marian says:

    hey there! i’ve been following your blog for a while – i’m friends with jamie and aaron ivey in austin, tx. i just got back from a week in Haiti where i worked in the clinic as a pediatric RN at Mission of Hope. i asked all of the full time staff if they knew you all and some were familiar with your rescue center. i wish so badly that i would have been able to come over and meet you and put faces to the stories i’ve been following. i guess i’ll have to save that for my next trip! thanks for all you are doing. -marian

  29. Heather Overmyer says:

    How about:
    Heloise Lynn
    Sabrina Lynn

  30. Ruth says:

    Names:

    Chloe

    Araya

Leave a Reply

