Love is a Verb

One of my last weeks in Haiti I (FYI…I, am Jess Lehman. I am 22 and live in Minneapolis. I spent the last 3 months at Real Hope for Haiti) and was just kind of verbally processing with the Lord and suddenly had this realization. I can help people for the rest of my life, but if I am not broken for them, if I do not love them, what is the point?  Many times my efforts to help comes from my own efforts to do something. I am scrambling, clawing, desperately trying to hold other’s heads above water while I am also drowning myself. But love…love is something I cannot conjure up on my own. It is something that has healed and is healing me, has transformed and is transforming me, it is something found only in Jesus. It is His love that must radiate from me in order to transform others (and in this case the people of Haiti).

In Exodus 3 Moses is standing before the burning bush and the Lord is speaking to him. In verse 11 Moses asks, ‘Who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?’ Yahweh answers him in verses 12 & 14 saying, “‘I will be with you’…say to the Israelites ‘I AM has sent me to you.'” I love when Moses says…”Who am I” because really who are we? We are only the called, He is I AM and it is through Him that the oppressed will be delivered, not through my weak human efforts. I must continually recognize that I need Him to break my heart for what breaks His, I need to let go of my pride and agenda and allow the Holy Spirit to love others through me. Easier said than done…oh Papa, I am utterly weak and You are immeasurably strong. “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.” Ephesians 3:20-21

I hope all this interest in Haiti isn’t just a trend. I am afraid it is but I am hopeful that it is not. I hope that we don’t just give of our excess, but I hope that we will deeply love these people, and that it will cost us. I hope we seek the Lord with our hearts in the deserts and in the blessings so that we may overflow with the transformational love of Jesus Christ. I hope we will still love despite knowing that our hearts will ache and be burdened…because really, there is no way else to live.

They are so worth it:

3 Responses to Love is a Verb

  1. Ronnie says:

    This was beautifully written Jess. I’m sure you put a smile on God’s face with you introspection. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Bekki says:

    Jess – this is BEAUTIFUL! When I came home from RHFH in May, I kept telling my dh that I’d finally figured it out – Christianity is a verb! It isn’t something that you are, it is something that you DO! Thank you for being so eloquent and heartfelt. Thank you for loving those beautiful and even the not-so-beautiful children of our Father. Kiss Marlene for me again!

  3. Dee Pring says:

    Thank you Jess.

Leave a Reply

