Elita

On Monday I posted the picture above of Elita.  She had been improving and doing so well.  Yesterday morning she became ill and died this morning at 3 am.  It was neurological.  Something was going on inside of her that we  could not help.  We could only try to comfort her and make her more comfortable.  She screamed on and off all yesterday afternoon and evening and began having seizures around 9pm. 

As I gave her a bath this morning and prepared her body for burial this afternoon I am again discouraged.  I do not understand why these things happen.  I used to try to figure them out.  I used to be upset about it.  I even have questioned God.   But ….to do what we do every..single…day…we must trust God….and know that we know that we know….He is in control of every single part of our lives.  He will help me with my discouragement. It is not easy, this work He has called us to do.  But we will continue to press-on.

Joshua 1:8-10 (New International Version)

8 Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. 9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

12 Responses to Elita

  1. Anna K says:

    Gosh dang it. Licia- I don’t think you know how much I love you and admire what you do for these kids… I wish I was there to help. Elita was beautiful.

  2. Amy says:

    I’m so sorry Licia. My heart breaks for you…stay strong…GOD LOVES YOU! I love you even though we’ve never met. Beautiful Elita is now playing happily alongside Jesus in a beautiful world we anxiously await to go to soon.

    ~Amy in WI

  3. Kathy says:

    heartbreaking

  4. lise budreo says:

    Licia,
    So sorry. I am so glad that she had you loving and caring for the last days of her life. I question also how and why things like this can happen..know that you and Lori are amazing women and the work you do although extremely difficult at times is so valuable and needed!

  5. Sandy Kinnaman says:

    heartbreaking…there are no words but one thing I do know…GOD IS IN CONTROL…even when I can’t understand it, even when it hurts, even when…

    He loves you so very much and so do I…it breaks my heart to see you go through this but He will bring your through and one day, ONE DAY WE WILL UNDERSTAND!

    Love you…sending a big hug your way,

    Sandy

  6. Carmen says:

    praying

  7. Ellen Dunaway says:

    John told me over lunch that Elita had died. I was stunned after the encouraging report yesterday. I am so very sorry. Thank you to your famiy for not looking the other way, but rather pouring your lives out in an effort to help the people of Haiti. If I can feel such sorrow for a child I never met, I can only imagine how magnified your grief is. I’m praying too.

  8. cathleen says:

    i am in tears right now…i’ve been watching her story and checking back and was so excited to see that smile on her face. i’m so sorry for her and for all of you.

  9. Karen says:

    Praying…..

  10. Emily says:

    My heart breaks, Licia. Looking at Elita’s sweet smile, all I can think is that she saw Jesus in you & the ladies of the Rescue Center before she went home to him. Your work is not in vain–you show the “least of these” that Jesus loves them. May He comfort you tonight, and encourage your heart as you pursue faithfulness.

  11. mimi says:

    Thank you for sharing Elita’s last story. Yes it is discouraging but in your heart you seem to have the answer, to trust God in all things, it pleases Him.

    I am glad that you do so much good and helpful service for the people of Haiti and for God.

  12. Mandy Kling says:

    Thank you for all you do… Thank you for sharing Elita and all the other children who you have been blessed with. Praying for you, your family, and all who look to you for help.

Leave a Reply

