A new baby born

A few weeks ago Lori was very busy with the cholera house.  She was taking a short break for lunch.  There was a lady that had walked several hours to arrive at the clinic.  She was in labor once she arrived.  We checked her and felt she had some time before I needed to call Lori to come.  We moved her into a different room.  She made no signs of pain or labor at all.  Her facial expression did not change, she did not yell, she did not say anything.  I was standing there and out comes the head.  I yelled for someone to call Lori.  I am serious she did not yell and change her expression at all.  No pushing or anything.  I grab some gloves and out she came.  I was holding her when Lori arrived a few minutes later.  Fast delivery. 

I asked her if anyone was with her.  She said her husband was outside with two of their kids.  She had traveled down the steep mountains paths to help bring the kids to the clinic.  I went to go find papa and give him the news.  He was a little shocked.  I asked where the two kids were so they could meet their new baby sister.   They were sitting waiting to see the nurse.  Both girls were severely malnourished.  They needed up being admitted into the RC that day. 

 

Proverbs 3:21-23 (NIV)

 21 My son, do not let wisdom and understanding out of your sight,
   preserve sound judgment and discretion;
22 they will be life for you,
   an ornament to grace your neck.
23 Then you will go on your way in safety,
   and your foot will not stumble.

5 Responses to A new baby born

  1. Debra Woodward says:

    WOW — Licia, sounds just like when you delivered Ameyah — NOT!

  2. kathy says:

    beautiful

  3. Emily says:

    What a blessing for that little girl to be born in a clean, safe place. We’ll be praying for the family, as well. It makes you wonder whether pain is such a familiar experience to that mother so as to deaden her sensations of it…

  4. Jennifer says:

    Every time I read one of your stories or a story of someone in Haiti I am always touched by their strength. For a woman to not even cry out when in labor is amazing but it also makes me sad because the pain she was in probably doesn’t even compare to the pain she and her family face everyday. I am so glad you are there, that Lori and her family are there to help families in Haiti. And congratulations on delivering a baby. I don’t know if it was your first time (probably not)but I am sure it probably won’t be your last. Praying for this family.

    Jennifer from CA

  5. Sharon Price says:

    I hear about you and your family alot from Jeremy Harris. We are in his bible study. I’m amazed in your love for the Lord that you and your family would stay in a country that is so deprived of what you could have back in the states. I know of Jeremy’a desire to live there also. How can people say there is no God. If it was so then there would be no people like you guys. God bless you and your family.

Leave a Reply

