Dieu-son Dieu- means God in Creole

Tuesday afternoon, after putting in to many IV’s  than I can remember, burying a child that had died, trying to get a small 4 pound baby to drink  plus everything else that goes on  here, we had a child that was left in front of the gate.  His mother left him sitting outside on the ground.  Lori went out to see what has happening.  I was dealing with another problem inside. When I went out he was sitting on the hot dirt with nothing on but a shirt screaming and crying.  Unfortunately, we are not aloud to touch the child without the judge coming and making a paper.  Fortunately, the judge was inside the clinic at the time talking with me about another problem.

July  15 2009 a 054

The judge (pictured below writing on the paper) went out and made a paper so that I could take the child inside.  We are so extremely blessed to have a judge that comes 24/7 for any problems that we have.  He is even on vacation this week, but was there to help us.  Once I saw the child I knew him.  He had been in the RC and returned home with his mother in Feb 2009. 

July  15 2009 a 052

I know you all do not want to hear the WHOLE truth but sometimes it is to much to hold inside of me.  I do not tell you a lot of stories.  I usually would just say.  Here is a child that was abandoned in front of the gate.  But…..  This child was returned to his mother.  The day that I gave him back to her she told the staff that she did not want to take him home.  She said that her new guy said he would not take care of another person’s kid.  He said if you die I will bury him with you in the casket.  Lovely boyfriend huh?   There was also a neighbor of hers that happened to be at the clinic that day.  She said she would show us the mothers house.  We sent someone from RHFH to go to the mothers house to see what she had to say.  She was hiding and would not come out.  The judge requested that she come to Cazal on Wednesday to see him.  She said she would come if I would give her taxi money.  She did not come but she sent word that if she comes and we make her take her child she will leave him along the road on the way back home.  This child is abandoned, but has a mother that I know, so it cannot be considered and abandoned child.  Interesting.  What to do now?  I do not know today.  I most likely will not even have time to think about it for several more day.  He is here and alive and that is enough right now.

We ran out of IV fluids today.   I had two bags left this AM.  I had to pick whichkid needed it the most out of three that were severely dehydrated.  Dad is in town trying to find some for us as I write this.  We have a least 5 kids on IV’s right now.  The last few days there has been a bad case of diar vomiting traveling through the RC.  It is bad for any child, but when that child is already weak, sick and malnourished it becomes a life and death situation really quick.  The kids could use your prayers today.  We at RHFH could use your prayers.  It is not always easy.

Psalm 91:14-16 (The Message)

 14-16 “If you’ll hold on to me for dear life,” says God,
      “I’ll get you out of any trouble.
   I’ll give you the best of care
      if you’ll only get to know and trust me.
   Call me and I’ll answer, be at your side in bad times;
      I’ll rescue you, then throw you a party.
   I’ll give you a long life,
      give you a long drink of salvation!”

14 Responses to Dieu-son Dieu- means God in Creole

  1. Jen says:

    Praying for all of you and for the children. All other words fail me.

  2. Heather says:

    Licia, I often think about you and pray for you. I know that you face much stress especially emotionaly as you work for and with these children. In Isaiah God promises to hold your hand, I’m sure He especially does this during the tough times. I am sure that He will bless you for the sacrifices you make as you minister to “the least of these”. I fondly recall the many things you taught me while I was there and so much of that was by your example. I love you!

  3. Bekki says:

    Praying for you – for Dieuson – for all the RHFH family; workers and kids and all. Sending love and wishing I was there.

  4. Tara says:

    L-

    I think you meant “It is not ever easy” — love and prayers from here.

  5. Angie, RN says:

    That story breaks my heart. I cannot imagine just leaving my child, crying and leaving him. I don’t understand what that mother is going through, but God loves this little one and I pray that God will bless him and keep him safe. God bless you Licia for doing what you do. So glad the judge was there to do the needed paperwork. God is in control!

  6. Sadie says:

    {{{{Dieuson}}}} Oh how I wish I could just reach through my screen and pick him up.

  7. Kristen says:

    Keep telling the whole truth. Prayers to you guys, and thankfulness for what you do.

  8. marisbush says:

    I am torn up over this little boy tonight. I know he is just the face of so many others. Thank you for being honest and posting this story even though I know it hurts to write. It has driven me to prayer for you guys and these sweet kids. Oh how I wish I could hold him!

  9. Roberta says:

    Praying SO much for you all!

  10. Audrey Ann says:

    I am crying and praying.

  11. Dena says:

    May God give you all strength!! He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust. Psalms 91:1-2. Praying for all…

  12. […] Go here to find out what they are dealing with right now. Posted by Jessica Filed in Love, Ministry, Prayer, kids Leave a Comment » […]

  13. Keverly says:

    Licia – I am so sad for Dieuson and his whole situation. I am praying for you and Dieuson. I remember him very clearly and am so thankful that you are there for him when no one else is. Ben’s friendship really is such a blessing – I’m glad he was there! I pray that the IV fluids will be replaced, and for the recovery of those kids. I think of and pray for you all continuously.

Leave a comment